My Top five tips when leaving home for months going on an around the world trip!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Being spontaneous about this trip, there's lots of things I get to finish up "just in time" before I leave. The day of departure is closing up on me, and before i hop on the plane going to India there's lots of stuff I have to get organized so that I can leave and be certain I can just focus on having a good time.

#1: VACCINES
Some vaccines need months to complete the full programme to be fully vaccinated. Especially Hepatitis and some of the heavier diseases you need some time between every shot. (In Norway at least.)
I suggest you start out getting the shots you need so you get them in time...because I'm about to get it done not a minute too early. Luckily I've got the major vaccines from previous trips, now it's just rabies, cholera, and a few single shots for me.

#2: PASSPORT
Check the expiration date on your passport. Some places need your passport to have validity for several months after you've left the country. In Norway we can travel withing the Schengen without our passport and only regular ID. But, as passport is the only official ID accepted in some places the best thing is to bring it. AND bring a couple of copies of it, kept in different places in case you loose your passport or it gets stolen.

#3: VISAS
If you're going to countries that needs visas make sure you check wether the visa needs to be applied for in advance or at the border. If you're going to several countries and need to apply by sending your passport to the different embassies, make sure you have the time to send it to ALL the embassies before you have to leave. Othervise you just don't get to leave..
I thought I didn't have time to ship my passport around in time...luckily it sorted out pretty well.

#4: TRAVEL INSURANCE
Make sure you have a travel insurance that will cover you for the time of the travel. My insurance only lasted for up to 70 days, a longer trip like my trip lasting 4,5 months I had to buy extra coverage. Also, if you're planning on doing some steep fun stuff like paragliding, climbing, scubadiving and such - check that the insurance actually covers extreme sport. We don't want accident to happen, and certainly no extra trouble and papermill if it happens.

#:5 BUDGET for home: BILLS, PHONE, INSURANCE, CAR, LOANS and other expenses
When leaving for several months without a paycheck every month it's a good idea to save up and make a budget for the expenses you have at home. Make arrangements that they are paid automatically by your bank (or help from family or friends.) Also, try to make deals with bank etc to minimize payments, postpone bills (for a fee), downsize phonebills and rent out what can be rented out. Turns out the expenses don't go on vacation....and you don't want to come home to hellhouse and a bank account that is bloody read and screeming for your attention.

And have a snack. Snacks are very important when dealing with bureaucracy..

/ Linn Elise

Sort:  

Wow! This is a great piece of information passed out here.
Tnx for sharing... Noted
Safe journey whenever you are set to travel!

Thanks! I'm happy to share whatever knowledge I learn along and hope for others to take advantage of it. =) Thanks alot! The journey plans will be posted as soon as they're set! =)

I would love to travel the world in a few months. It would be amazing .The stories I would have to share and all the people I would get to meet. thanks for this info very helpful keep up the good work and good luck on your journey

I hope you get to do it someday! Myself I cannot wait to get going. Just a few more things I have to take care of at home before I wave goodbye to everything for a while.
I love travelling and meeting new cultures, all the people and learning from them and growing. Hopefully I'll be able to give something back along the way. I will steem while travelling, maybe fellow steemians can pick up a tip or two.
Thanks, and I cross fingers you'll go on your own journey someday!
Greetings

Even I am planning solo month long trip this year end and I am writing my notes. I hope you enjoy the massive cultural differences. If you have specific questions and want to ask anonymously please visit reddit.com/r/india . In past travellers have asked questions and community has responded whole heatedly.

Here is Aloo paratha photo for luck!

Wow thanks Morty! I appreciate it, and I'll definitely look up reddit.com/r/india as India is one of the countries I'll spend the most time in.
Where are you planning on going? I really enjoy the cultural differences and the people and everything. I have so much left to learn, and the more I learn the more I realize I know so little. I've been travelling quite a bit the last ten years, and I cannot get enough of the wisdom I get along the way. The world puts a perspective to the little privileged bubble that I live in. I just appreciate the growth I do on my travels.

The Aloo paratha looks delicious!! :-D

good luck on your journey that you're planning wherever that may be!

Somewhere in South America. Even I am looking for cultural shocks and difference while travelling.
Cheers!

Enjoy your trip 👍👍👍

Thanks alot! Appreciate it. :-)

Good tips can I also add (although maybe easier for some more than others) is not to pack so much, bare minimum because you have to carry it around everywhere! Enjoy your travels :) p.s if you get the chance to go to Varanassi in India I highly recommend!

Thanks for the tip! I'm a fan of travelling light for the reason you mention. I'll have to drag it all around, and I hate to be all sweaty of carrying things..hehe. Thanks for the tip about Varanassi! I'll see if it's in the area I'm going, and if not I have a reason to come back. I have a gut feeling it's not my last trip to India. =)

One thing not on your list that we always find extremely helpful is a mail forwarding service. We use US Global Mail but there are many. You forward your email to them and they scan it all and send it to you via email for review. It's only about 10 dollars per month. And if you need something sent to you they will mail it to any address very cheaply. We couldn't have made it in Guatemala for 6 months without it. Great post. Following. @qberry

thanks qberry! That's a great tip! Luckily I've got family to take care of my mail and bills while I'm gone, but if it wasn't for this a forwarding mail service would be great. Thanks for sharing! :D

Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the challenges. It was really informative. Your Posts are extremely helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

Thanks tech1! I'm glad to hear. I hope to share what I know along the way, helping other travelers along their journey. =)

Skikkelig gode tips dette. Men jeg setter ikke pris på bildet av vaksineringen. Hilsen sprøyteskrekk87 😂 . LOL

Haha! Ja, tenkte det kunne være et spennende bilde for de som ikke tåler å se sprøyter..LOL. Kanskje det senker terskelen å vise at det går helt greit! hehe,
Nå er avreise ikke så langt unna, og jeg begynner å få reisefeber..endelig! Gleder meg..dette blir et eventyr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97