Traveling to the Alps (Les Houches and the Mont-Blanc)

in #travel6 years ago

Hi everyone, here is @lemouth writing!

If you work in physics, there is a center it is likely that you must have heard something about, the school of physics des Houches. Located in the town of Les Houches, this school has the advantage to be well isolated. This makes it a perfect place for physics: one can eat physics from breakfast to after work time, i.e. more than 18 hours a day. A really perfect place for work.

While the center is called a school, it is mainly used to organize workshops where a small number of physicists (up to about 70) can meet to work together. I have personally been there 6 or 7 times for more or less longish periods, and this has provided me each time opportunities to initiate new collaborations.


[image credits: myself (Samsung Galaxy A5)]

The center is located right in front of the Mont-Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe (if we start west of the Russian Caucasus peaks :p). Anywhere one looks from the physics center, one sees this mountain that lies a bit further. I had the chance to get several times a room with a straight view on the Mont-Blanc when I went there!

Years after years, I got a pretty nice collection of pictures of it. Those shared in this post date from the international workshop on high-energy particle colliders I have attended in June 2017. I didn’t have my camera with me, so that all pictures have been taken with my smartphone.


[image credits: myself (Samsung Galaxy A5)]

All the above photos have been taken from the physics center. One can see the Mont Blanc at different times of the day. Noe you can enjoy this colorful moutain. Apologies for the quality, not always super great, but still reasonable :p

And of course, one of the nice feature of having a physics center straight into the Alps is that plenty of hiking trails just start from the center. I usually try to go walking everyday and running every other morning.

The last time, I went to Le Prarion, a small hike of about 1000 meters height difference from the center. This consists of a good walk for half a day, and I did it around lunch time (in order to have lunch at the top). I would recommend definitely to start much earlier. The sun is really strong there. But please don’t worry for me, I managed to survive unburned!

Instead of describing what I saw, I share three pictures below.


[image credits: myself (Samsung Galaxy A5)]

This region, i.e. the Chamonix Valley, is really beautiful and in my opinion the most beautiful region of France. I hope I will be able to be there in June 2019 once again. I miss waking up with the view on the Mont-Blanc ^^

Sort:  

You call this a workplace? Some people would pay to be there.

Heck, I even had a Mont Blanc cologne once called "Presence", as if to fool you into thinking you're there...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:20:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome spot! Do any hikes out of the center lead to lakes? Looks like the alps would be full of them.

Some of them do. The "Lac Blanc" is a famous one I did several times (and not too far from Les Houches).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56