My Random Adventure Across the Country Part 1

in #travel6 years ago

Cross Country Exploring: Part One- The Northern Abbey

Hey guys! I was feeling a bit bored one day and decided I should just take the car and go on an adventure! My journey takes me to a 106 year old abbey nestled in the mountains of northern Trinidad, the rolling hills of San Fernando and to finish the day, a seafront with a most beautiful view of sunsets. (Some pictures were taken with my D3400 and others with my Galaxy S6).

1111.jpg
(Aerial view image taken from the abbey's Website)

So I took up my camera, got in the car and drove northwards to St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago. There the northern mountain range can be seen in all its majesty, towering over the town and most of the northern part of the island. I was headed to the Mount St. Benedict Abbey. The church was founded by Brazilian monks in 1912 who fled their country and came to Trinidad in lieu of religious persecution. Ever since, the abbey has added to the allure and beauty of the mountain range.

Getting There

DSC_0080.jpg

The road leading up the mountain to the church is steep and winding, but the drive is very relaxing. Beautiful flora and fauna line both sides and is a nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of life down below in the nearby town. Up here the air feels fresh and crisp, almost purified!

20160102_172527.jpg
A view of the mountain side while heading up to the abbey.

The main building itself stands verdantly and is the first thing the eyes fall upon in when entering the compound. I had arrived just in time to hear the ending of the prayer session that was being held. The religious banter from the inside added to the tranquil ambiance of the area.

20160102_172504.jpg
View of the main building

20160102_172646.jpg
The car park and some friends who accompanied me.

The View

Since this church is perched on a mountain, one would assume that the view is awesome. IT IS. There is a special lookout area which provides a spectacular view of the rest of the island all the way down to the south. The first time I visited, the fact that I could see that far and that much from there blew my mind!

DSC_0082.jpg
The lookout area.

I could see my whole university campus from there as well as other significant landmarks that are literally hours away. Weather the visibility is good or not, the view is just as breathtaking. I remember going up for new years once and seeing all the fireworks of the country down below, it was so spectacular and surreal, I couldn't properly convey it to you even if I tried. Sadly I have no pictures or footage of this.

20160102_174346.jpg
Just breathtaking!

DSC_0079.jpg
A clearer view on a clear day

The Inside

The inside of the abbey looks much like any other cathedral, with its long hallways and columnous pews.

20160102_173045.jpg
The pews and the altar.

To the side of the main building, there was another area that was blocked off. I took the below picture through the gratings of a gate, but the view was so serene I just wanted to open the gate and get over there. It looked so heavenly!

20160102_173539.jpg
The sun and the sky paired with the trees and the lighting just makes this picture so brilliant!

I didn't spend a long time here, as I wanted to head to the southern part of the island to the city of San Fernando, where the ocean-view is wondrous and the city lights can take your breath away amongst its rolling hills. Since this post was getting a bit long, I decided to make another with that. Thank you for coming along! I hope you learn't and enjoyed as much as I did. Upvote and comment if you liked and look out for part 2 soon!

20160102_173311.jpg
Me (left) and my friend (right), pausing for a selfie in the carpark!

CHEERS!

Steem Logo 2 (0-00-00-00).png

Sort:  

Hello, lemniscate! I wish you a great journey here in this awesome community :) Enjoy this journey!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Love your photos and love the church and great smiles.

Thank you! Glad you like :)

The abbey is in a very beautiful area. It's a good excursion
to the monastery of St. Benedict. Excellent!

Yes it is, the trip kind of reconnects you with nature in a way!

Hello!
Beautiful photos...
Good post ...

Welcome to Steem, @lemniscate!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2535 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.14 : Follower / Witness voter indicator.

This post has received a 5.64 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lemniscate.