Come Along [10] - Koh Samet a pleasant surprise

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5614.JPG

IMG_5765.JPG

Koh Samet was such a pleasant surprise for me on my trip. It’s this lovely little island near Bangkok that residents in the city often go to for a weekend getaway. It is also a protected national park. I had no idea what to expect because it wasn’t on my list, to be honest nothing was on my list really asides from the lantern festival in Chiang Mai. I was just going with the flow with everything. So when Josh told me all his friends were heading to Koh Samet for the weekend to relax by the beach I was really excited to go.

IMG_7073.JPG

I don’t think I would have been able to make this journey on my own. We hired a taxi driver to drive us to Ban Phe Pier 3 hrs from Bangkok. From there we hopped on a speed boat and took a sort ride to Koh Samet. Good thing everyone spoke Thai and was able to communicate and bargain for us to get on the island. I thought it was pretty funny, me being the only asian out of the bunch and the only one that does not know any Thai. It makes me laugh when the locals look at me for answers and i just stare at them in a daze and look at my friends to respond.

After a long boat ride we checked into our beachfront rooms and headed down into the water to finally soak in the ocean. You guys know the drill.

IMG_7021.JPG

IMG_6913.JPG

First things first. A beer. Cheers!

We swam in the ocean as the sunset, it was so pretty. Surprisingly there wasn't a lot of tourist around probably because it was a weekday so it made the whole island so relaxing. At night we walked along the beach found a local seafood restaurant. Sitting on chairs right on the sand we enjoyed an amazing meal, my favorite was the whole fish cooked in lemon sauce. We ended the night in front of a bar that reminded me of Pandora listening to a live band. There were a huge blue glowing tree in the middle of the bar with twinkling lights along the branches. I was so glad we decided to go to Koh Samet this little island was just starting to show us it’s magic.

IMG_7116.JPG

IMG_7120.JPG


Thanks for Coming Along!
See you again in Pt 10
Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan


IMG_4884.jpg


For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands


39B86BB8-19C7-453F-8D6C-05D06324EDFC.jpg


Sticky Waterfall

Pt 1-Follow Your Heart
Pt 2- A Contrast in Realities
Pt 3- The Most Dangerous Market in Thailand
Pt 4- Overnight Train to Chiang Mai
Pt 5- Ancient Chiang Mai
Pt 6- Baby Elephant at the Jungle Santuary
Pt 7 - Climbing a Sticky Waterfall
Pt 8- Lantern Festival
Pt 9 - Quaint Pai

Sort:  

Awe thank you so much! Those sun rays definitly bring out my happyness lol

really nice pics. Like I said before. I really have to visit Asia/Thailand.
Thanks for your impressions

I'm glad you want to go. Honestly there's so much beauty, foods good and is cheap!!!! Haha

That looks like a really lovely place. I didn't hear about it when I was in Bangkok. If I go back I'll definitely check it out.

I had no idea about it too! I don't know if I recommend it over other islands. There are just so many awesome choices in Thailand. But it's really close to Bangkok which is nice for a short get away !

Hi friends steemit, do not forget to my homepage.
Do not forget also vote, comment and follow. @muammark013 THANK YOU. @lalilands

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43