Come Along [8] - Lantern Festival In Chiang Mai

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5294.JPG

The horizon full of twinkling flames floating down the rivers and drifting across the skies. What a beautiful sight to see. The whole reason I wanted to go to Thailand was see the Lantern Festival that happens once a year in November. In northern Thailand the two festivals are celebrated together and decorate the city with lights. Chiang Mai being the ancient capital was the ideal place to be.

IMG_6150.JPG

Loi Krathong


Loi Krathong means “to float a basket” and takes place all over Thailand and other asian countries under a different name on the twelfth month of the Lunar Calendar. For the celebration you float beautifully decorated baskets down the river as you make a wish.

Yi Peng


Yi Peng means “ two, full moon day” which is celebrated on the full moon of the second month on the Lanna Calendar which is also is the twelfth month of the Lunar Calendar! For Yi Peng you launch lanterns high into the sky.

IMG_6102.JPG

IMG_6112.JPG

There are many places all along the river in Chiang Mai to release lanterns and float baskets. If you want to there is also an option to participate in a mass release for tourists which would make for more stunning pictures. I’ve participated in RISE a lantern release event that is thrown in the States so this time I just wanted to experience that authentic and cultural feel of it in Chiang Mai.

Because of the death of Bhumibol Adulyadej the festival still took place but in a more toned down manner since the country was still in a state of mourning. There were no fireworks but the parade still went on.

All around next to the river you can find little stands selling intricate floating baskets. Many were biodegradable and made out of leaves and flowers. I bought a floating basket and walked down towards the river to release it, being extra careful not to slip in the mud or tip my basket over.

IMG_6849.JPG

IMG_6848.JPG

Finding a lantern was a little bit harder so when we found someone selling it we bought all that we could. I had two tries to get this right. Holding the lantern low on the ground we lit the wick and watched as it slowly inflated. I was so excited to see my dreams float into the sky! We carried it over to the edge of the bridge and released! It floated slowly up and then proceeded to descend down to the abyss in the river and die. Not my epic moment to shine I’ve been imagining…. The second one I wrote all my dreams on it and really let it inflate. My heart was beating so fast as I finally let go on my lantern. Please float… And it did!!! Carried all my hopes and dreams with it.

It was a great way to remember my time in Chiang Mai and such personal significance to me for sparking me to take me solo trip around Asia. Yep, this was going to be a time of a lot of personal release of pre conceptions and ideals. As well as a time for hope, dreams and discoveries.


Thanks for Coming Along!
See you again in Pt 9

Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan

IMG_4884.jpg


For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands


39B86BB8-19C7-453F-8D6C-05D06324EDFC.jpg


Sticky Waterfall

Pt 1-Follow Your Heart
Pt 2- A Contrast in Realities
Pt 3- The Most Dangerous Market in Thailand
Pt 4- Overnight Train to Chiang Mai
Pt 5- Ancient Chiang Mai
Pt 6- Baby Elephant at the Jungle Santuary
Pt 7 - Climbing a Sticky Waterfall

Sort:  

It must have been a once in a life experience.Great pictures !The night lights look wonderful

Totally get to cross it off my bucket list now! It was super nice . Thanks for reading my pose @unshakeable 😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lalilands
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-along-8-lantern-festival


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Sawasdee khrab @lalilands. Loey Kratong is a very beautiful festive day.

It is!!! Such a magical time! Glad I got to experience it. Thanks for reading. Are you from thailand ?

No, I'm from Germany, but I have lived in Thailand for a while :)

i want to witness this! T_T
thanks for this @lalilands

You must definitly ! It's so authentic and magical!! And must see in a Chiang mai as well 🙌

soon :) :) :)

Wow, lantern festival is on my bucketlist! I've never been to a lantern festival but would love to try that one out in the future. Looking forward to reading and checking out your posts.

Thank you @dawnsheree !! When I saw picture of this festiva I just had to go as well. Very different than the Rise Festival I went to in a Nevada

Nice photos!

Thanks @yingzoe!!! It was hard to capture the lanterns the way I imagined cause I wasn't at the mass release. But still very nice to be there!

Understood. It was dark and the lanterns were moving, adding the difficulty. The second last one was really beautiful:)

Awe thank you! Yes definitly gives me a new appreciation for night photos lol gotta practice !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lalilands from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Beautiful photos. thank you for sharing this experience. I've always wanted to travel, and this looks like a lovely place to visit, and a wonderful festival to be a part of.

Thank you @sumayyahsaido I hope you do get a chance to see this place and many more amazing places around the world!

Love the lantern festivals. Here is a video from one that I attended near my home town - https://steemit.com/travel/@liquidtravel/fires-in-the-sky.

Awesome video @liquidtravel I really want to see another lantern fest now

thank you. They really are a wonderful experience.

I can't believe I am visiting Chian Mai this year. So excited. I missed the festival but this looks great.

Omg I'm sooooo excited for you!! Chiang Mai is amazing regardless and there's lots of other festivals and night markets to see too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94