You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First World Destruction of Entrepreneurship - Welfare vs. Production

in #travel8 years ago

Imo there is a balance to be struck. Too much wellfair is bad, not enough is cruelty for the sake of principal. I'm cool paying taxes to support public bathrooms, for example. Some people imo for varius reasons should be allowed wellfair or unemployment insurance or disability payments. At the same time there are some people who scam the system. Too often I see people saying it has to be all this way or all that way. I've seen musicians performing in train stations in the US.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments @laconicflow.
Yeah, we see folks doing some of this, usually because they love to do it. But we have a very huge welfare system that keeps many who would do it to put food on the table from doing so. It's so much easier to collect EBT.
I'd disagree on the welfare thing. It's not because of a lack of compassion, but a matter of coercion. There are a ton of reasons welfare is destructive, besides a couple I've already mentioned

  • Government never is efficient with funding because there is no real accountability. It's always more efficient for the private sector to accomplish any given task.
  • Welfare is not compassion. In fact, it diminishes compassion because rather than helping others, it causes us to just shrug it off and let folks go get welfare. We're all paying for it anyway, right?
  • Of course, it is subject to abuse. It always will be. And it enslaves people to those who will promise them the most "free" (paid for by those who produce value) stuff
    I could go on. Economically it's a disaster. But I think it's equally a social and cultural disaster as well.
    I would say the same about bathrooms. I'd rather keep my tax funds and pay someone to be able to use one they maintain. They get paid and will be far more efficient, and I can use the tax money to tip them or for some other good or service that helps the economy.
    Obviously that wasn't the main thrust of the article, but it's a worthy discussion. Thanks for engaging.

I'll always engage. For me that's the point. I think how we help the poor differs according to the current society My core argument for wellfair is that I would rather an imperfect system than starving poor people. I recognize we will disagree on this issue.

It's tough, because I really do agree regarding starving people, but cannot agree on the course of action. The state always justifies itself, fails to be accountable and squanders resources. This isn't just a offhand broadbrush. The state is the most inefficient middleman available.
Example - how much wealth could go toward feeding the poor if the US was not constantly picking fights and blowing people up? If the same resources were used to feed the hungry, there would be no hunger in the entire world.
It's the tip of the iceberg though, as is my list above.
Thanks again. I enjoy these discussions and the opportunity to hear opposing views. Sometimes it sways me. Other times it strengthens my resolve. Regardless, it's encouraging to see your shared compassion towards those in need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59947.96
ETH 2426.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49