First World Destruction of Entrepreneurship - Welfare vs. Production

in #travel8 years ago

With the growing welfare programs in “advanced” economies, what happens to the desire to produce value? What’s the point in striving to get ahead when all effort results in losing any ground gained to reduced benefits?

In countries without rampant welfare programs, people find ways to produce value. It might simply be entertainment, but that’s better than sitting and holding out a cup.

Here are vendors set up along Reñaca Beach. Back by the bar you can see someone has various goods laid out on the short wall.

This is one thing I absolutely love about Chile. There is a constant free market all around, dependent upon others voluntarily compensating them for their service. You can't walk around in a busy area without seeing someone offering some sort of entertainment for tips. Here's Los Porteños.

Los Porteños was at the park in Viña del Mar. I bought three CDs from them and love to listen, even though my Spanish stinks and the camera wasn't the best. But they still sound great! Here's a picture of me with two of them.

Which system is better: One that steals from those who produce in order to give to those who do not? Or one that leaves people to find a way to produce value in order to be compensated?

Here are some things to expect on the streets in Chile.

- I very rarely see someone begging with a cup in Chile, other than the occasional elderly or crippled person.

- Some perform tricks, gymnastics, juggling or other forms of entertainment at busy intersections. You hit a red light, then kick back and enjoy the show. When they’re done they walk among the cars with hands ready to receive voluntary donations.

- Bus stop assistance. This is something we in the US are not used to considering. In Viña del Mar there’s a man who stands ready to assist people in finding the right microbus. If you’re not from the area, this can be incredibly important. As I was showing a visitor around the area, we were assisted in getting on the right bus. I told my guest that he was waiting for a tip. My client’s response? “Fat chance.” You see, he was conditioned to think that the guy was paid to do this. But he relies on the generosity of those he helps to put food on the table. After tipping and boarding the bus, I explained to my guest how the system works. He had no idea.

- Entertainers – They’re common to see on the streets and even on metros and buses. They’ll board at one stop, play a few songs, get donations, then get off and go to another bus or metro. Sometimes they sing, tell jokes, do skits or play instruments.

- Provide convenience – You’re driving along when you see a man standing in the street with some beautiful strawberries. Knowing that your wife loves strawberries, you pay a little extra for the convenience. Anything from candy bars to produce to electronic gadgets are offered by these enterprising individuals who are providing real value.

Here's Juan in Valparaíso, selling jewelry that he made.

- One thing that would strike Americans as odd is the lack of public restrooms. In fact, from what I understand, until a few of the big box stores showed up, there really was no such thing as a free public restroom in Chile. Even in the bus station and other such places, you must pay in order to use the restroom. Here's a sign I saw when walking along the beach in Viña del Mar. It sure beats taxing everyone to maintain it.

Rather than sitting around shuffling paper in order to appeal to some bureaucrat to release tax dollars to help put food on the table, these people are providing a service to others. Whether it’s convenience by providing a tangible good, entertainment, an opportunity to take a much needed leak or some other service, their goal is to provide value and receive compensation for their efforts.

How much better for a society to have such a structure than one that robs ingenuity and productivity in order to reward laziness? When the latter exists, there is no incentive and the culture begins to break down and crush itself, which is exactly what we see happening in the US today. Even if someone did take the initiative to do these things, the draconian system of regulation would preclude their ability to do so legally. And the asinine minimum wage laws inhibit many people who could otherwise produce value from being able to find state approved employment.

Chile has some of this idiocy too, like minimum wage laws for nannies. Perhaps all countries do, to one extent or another. But hopefully the bureaucrats won’t intrude any further into the freedom the people enjoy in producing value in order to put food on the table.

And, next time you see someone adding value to your day, try not to take them for granted and consider a tip… a monetary one.

Steemin' on,
Another Joe

Sort:  


Hey @anotherjoe - Here are the free seeds I'll be sending you. I gave you a good amount of Passionfruit you wanted, I'd plant them this fall and see if they don't come up in the spring for you. Also, there are some 4 O'Clocks for your wife too, plus some others, including the GHOST PEPPER, just 'cause I'm @papa-pepper! Enjoy!

Awesome! Thanks @papa-pepper. Looking forward to them.

I can't wait to make it down there. Heading to Argentina for LABitConf in November first. My buddy was telling me about his trip last week to Colombia and wow the costs were low and service was unbelievable compare to here in Panama.

I imagine service in Chile is pretty good. I have never heard anyone complain.

Haha, you will!! Service is Chile is terrible. They don't care. It's really odd. Even Chilean restaurant owners would prefer to hire immigrants, like Colombians - no joke! Chile has a lot going for it, but if you want good service then keep looking. :) Colombians are known for taking really good care of you though. I don't know about the other Latin American countries. My guess is Chile's at the bottom and Colombia is at the top.
Enjoy your trip. That's awesome.

Maybe I'll see you in Argentina, Randy. It's just a nice little road trip away for me :)

Been trying to talk a few LABitConf attendees into visiting Valdivia, actually!
But if you guys can make it over, that'd be cool.

Yeah, there's a good chance I'll be able to get away for that.

Looks a very active city, I would have to take extra change as I can never say no

Haha, no kidding. But it's awesome, because you can appreciate what they're doing. I have some video of a guy who was dressed as a sorta tin man robot that would perform on the corners for cars. I can't find it right now though. Another guy would pull a strap across the road between poles on a red light, and do tightrope stuff, juggling, etc., then take it down before the light changed, leaving just enough time to walk among the cars to get tips before the light turned green. They're pretty creative and industrious.
Some of these were in Santiago, some in Viña del Mar. Santiago is a big city. Viña is medium sized, but the center of activity along the central coast. I prefer the latter, as it's more relaxed and pleasant, IMO.

Amazing what they can do, when you hand these there money you know is going to them helping where needed. I appreciate what they do and can't resist watching them all

It's too bad in the U.S. it's either illegal to do a lot of those things or permits and taxes drain all the profit.

I know. Crazy. I mentioned some of the asinine over-regulation in yesterday's article. I mean, taking down a girl's lemonade stand because she doesn't have the proper permits? Good grief.

and yet another issue
is the incredible amount of time and effort
in getting those permits and paying those taxes you refer to.

cheers

That's true entrepreneurship is getting more than just production.

Your signature rocks buddy!

@anotherjoe nicely done. :smile:

Cool! You are welcome... Thanks for the compliment though! :-)

Imo there is a balance to be struck. Too much wellfair is bad, not enough is cruelty for the sake of principal. I'm cool paying taxes to support public bathrooms, for example. Some people imo for varius reasons should be allowed wellfair or unemployment insurance or disability payments. At the same time there are some people who scam the system. Too often I see people saying it has to be all this way or all that way. I've seen musicians performing in train stations in the US.

Thanks for your comments @laconicflow.
Yeah, we see folks doing some of this, usually because they love to do it. But we have a very huge welfare system that keeps many who would do it to put food on the table from doing so. It's so much easier to collect EBT.
I'd disagree on the welfare thing. It's not because of a lack of compassion, but a matter of coercion. There are a ton of reasons welfare is destructive, besides a couple I've already mentioned

  • Government never is efficient with funding because there is no real accountability. It's always more efficient for the private sector to accomplish any given task.
  • Welfare is not compassion. In fact, it diminishes compassion because rather than helping others, it causes us to just shrug it off and let folks go get welfare. We're all paying for it anyway, right?
  • Of course, it is subject to abuse. It always will be. And it enslaves people to those who will promise them the most "free" (paid for by those who produce value) stuff
    I could go on. Economically it's a disaster. But I think it's equally a social and cultural disaster as well.
    I would say the same about bathrooms. I'd rather keep my tax funds and pay someone to be able to use one they maintain. They get paid and will be far more efficient, and I can use the tax money to tip them or for some other good or service that helps the economy.
    Obviously that wasn't the main thrust of the article, but it's a worthy discussion. Thanks for engaging.

I'll always engage. For me that's the point. I think how we help the poor differs according to the current society My core argument for wellfair is that I would rather an imperfect system than starving poor people. I recognize we will disagree on this issue.

It's tough, because I really do agree regarding starving people, but cannot agree on the course of action. The state always justifies itself, fails to be accountable and squanders resources. This isn't just a offhand broadbrush. The state is the most inefficient middleman available.
Example - how much wealth could go toward feeding the poor if the US was not constantly picking fights and blowing people up? If the same resources were used to feed the hungry, there would be no hunger in the entire world.
It's the tip of the iceberg though, as is my list above.
Thanks again. I enjoy these discussions and the opportunity to hear opposing views. Sometimes it sways me. Other times it strengthens my resolve. Regardless, it's encouraging to see your shared compassion towards those in need.

Good points! It's not only the welfare that is causing a lack of entrepreneurship. The large corporate superstores and fast food chains are also forcing out the mom and pop operators.

Edit: and sadly this is happening in developing countries as well as in the 'first world'

Yeah, true. IMO, the most heinous culprits are welfare and over-regulation. They both destroy production.
The big corporations are always going to grow. That's just business. I can't fault them, unless their activity is underhanded. It is tough to see multi-generational businesses shut down because of big box stores though. I think it's hard on the culture.

Chile has been #1 on my list of places to live for a long while. Soon.

Yep. I got to spend a few months there a couple years ago, then was doing some work there, but it all kinda fell apart so we weren't able to make the move. I'm still working toward it though.

Looks like you're being chased by a gang of Chinese bots...

lol, I know. They upvoted before the ink dried.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00