The Old Dog Wonders: What Did I Get Myself Into?

in #travel6 years ago

Dencentralized 2018 has come to an end but I still had a day to tour the city. I had already purchased tickets for the hop on hop off bus tour of Athens and this morning I was raring to go!

After waiting 40 minutes for a bus that was advertised to run every 20 minutes I gave them a call. The lady on the phone very nicely explained that the buses run 364 days a year but that today they were cancelled because of a protest that would be taking place in the centre of the city! It would be too dangerous she added!



Here you can see the police getting ready just in case there are clashes!


As I walked back from the Acropolis many of the intersections wer blocked by these riot ready buses!


Several of the attractions had similar sign posted on them.


I found this information here at Garda.com:


Event

"Demonstrations are planned in Athens on Saturday, November 17, to mark the anniversary of the 1973 Athens Polytechnic student uprising. According to local reports, thousands are expect to march from the Parliament building to the US Embassy and stage rallies at the National Technical University of Athens building on Patission street. 

Authorities announced that the Megaro Mouskis, Evangelismos, and Syntagma metro stations will close beginning at 15:30 (local time) and traffic in the city-center will be restricted on Saturday.

 An additional 5000 police personnel as well as drones and helicopters will be deployed to Athens to secure the march route. 

Clashes between demonstrators and security forces cannot be ruled out."


Context

As many as 10,000 people marking the anniversary of the uprising against the military junta marched peacefully through Athens in 2017. Following the march, clashes broke out during the evening hours after demonstrators threw petrol bombs at security forces, who used tear gas to disperse the crowds. The event has become a point of convergence for anti-government protests against austerity measures imposed as a condition for economic bailout packages in recent years.


Did I Still See Some of Athens?

I still managed to walk around the historic area of the city and visit the Acropolis and the Museum. It was a little eerie walking past all of the riot police on my way back to the hotel and since I was advised to be out of the area before 5 pm I made sure to do so!


What I did see was very interesting and enjoyable!


I do plan on returning to Greece with my family on another occassion so I'll make up for whatever I missed on a future occasion.


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 


Until next time,  


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Stay safe there :)

Thanks! I'll make it a point to eat in or near my hotel tonight!

You got a 3.25% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @myfinanceteacher!

From attraction face clash from demonstration to attraction the beuatiful eyes of Athens. Happy weekend sir @kus-knee.

Oh dear...17th of November. What a horrible day to be in Athens. I am glad you are safe and didn't have to inhale all kinds of gas and chemicals police used today. Talking from experience (lived in Athens for 17 years)

Thanks! All is good!

Some of those protests get scary real quick! I see a lot of them on the weekend in my hometown of Portland. Once I actually got caught up in one accidentally. Some of them were dressed in full black protective gear. They don't mess around.

Wow in Portland. I would never have thought so! If that ANTIFA that I read about in the news?

Yep that's them. When Trump got elected they were rioting by the college I was going to almost every night for a week. They did a lot of damage to some of the local shops. Thankfully I didn't have any night classes that term.

Sad that you could not see more of Athens. The good part is that Athens will still be there next year or when you will eventually decide to return. :) So better luck next time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, unless some rioters overthrow the city! :(

If that would happen even the second time you go there, than let's just say that Athens isn't for you. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

It is one of the worst days to walk to Athens.... tomorrow it really is going to be a very nice day to walk to Athens... How many days do you stay in Athens???

I fly home tomorrow!

I hope the next time, you will come, to meet you closely... :))))

Hopefully every thing is ok soon as soon.40mint wait is to much long.You enjoying your travel.Some days ago very big protest in pakistan.Everything not looks good.Thank God now everything is ok in pakistan.Thanks for sharing.

The works can be troubled place. Stay safe!

Excellent review, my friend, and it’s very unfortunate that you couldn’t see all of Athens and share this beautiful city with us, but I hope everything will be more successful next time! Thank you @kus-knee

Here I thought the US had the market cornered on all the protesting lol!

hahaha this is one of the worst days go anywhere in the center of Athens. It is supposed to be just protest that hold a symbolism to the events that took place at that exact date many years ago but as always there are some fucktards that ruin everything fighting the cops, burning bins (cause that's how you do it) and break stuff.

Some metro stations close and some of the buses change routes. At least nothing serious happened like the previous years :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76