You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel: Shipwreck Captain James A. Duffy

in #travel6 years ago

Yes, love seeing ocean pics and wreckage/ships/dives.
Adding a strong ND filter and manually setting the exposure to 100 ASA seemed to help my drone pics a lot. I didn't save the link, but there are some tutorials out there on tweaking the drone exposure settings to improve the shot even before any post-processing.
Spoiler, a couple of those zoom in shots on my last rock climbing post were taken with a regular camera (Sony a200).

Sort:  

So you're saying that a ND filter is a must have!? Do you have a specific set of filters?

Already found some tutorials about tweaking the image settings, but they didn't deliver the sharpness I see in your post.

Gonna write and film some other wrecks in my area for Steemit I think. Good to hear you love them. I'm always fascinated when the wrecks are just there waiting till nature and time fades them away including the adventures they had during their sails.

Definitely a must have for shooting in bright areas like sand, sun, beach like you will be. I found the ones that have both nd filter and PL filter (polarizing) will give best results in those cases. There are several reviews out there on them for Mavic. I chose the NeatoTek 6 pack because of the multiple choices and mix with CPL filters, and it came in a nice slim carry pack.

This link shows some good comparisons of what the filters do.
https://www.amazon.com/Platinum-Multicoated-Neutral-Circular-Polarizer/dp/B07258PL7W

Polar Pro also had good reviews. I found though since I am normally shooting in bright daylight, I typically just use the highest power. It seems a little dark when recording, but looks so much better when viewing afterwards. It apparently makes it much easier to do post-processing enhancement, but I have not done much of that yet. Looking at installing adobe premier when I have time.

Gonna do my research on it. First preparing for the weekend off. Gonna visit my parents in the north. You already have some plans for the weekend?

The images with/without filter at your amazon link do really match reality without post-processing?

And ND16 you're using most of the time?

Just trying to stay cool this weekend and hanging out. May get out to fly a bit. Yes, I am using ND16 most of the time, and huge difference. I didn't notice much with ND4, but could tell a little bit. One of the tutorials I read that was really good showed how it made the post processing even better, as it picked up more detail which could then be easily lightened up in post processing, vs. being washed out and unable to pull the detail. Definitely worth the $30 I spent on the set!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61