🇮🇩 Visiting the Monkey Forest Sanctuary in Bali, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

In this post I am going to talk about my visit to the Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary in Bali, Indonesia, which I made back in 2009.

The sanctuary lies in Ubud, south-east of Bali, and hosts an abundance of crab-eating macaques (Macaca fascicularis), aka Balinese long-tailed monkeys. Apart from the monkeys, there is also a number of bats in the complex.

As you can see from the pictures, the monkeys have no fear of humans. They will approach humans offering them food, and are generally well behaved. But they can get mean too, especially towards humans offering them food and then pulling back the offer, and there are occasional monkey bites (1).

I went there on a guided tour, and experienced no problems at all. To be honest, I didn't approach the monkeys too close; other people did though.

Playing with the monkeys

Happy monkey family

More monkeys ...

And some bats

After the sanctuary, we had free time in Ubud, so I visited the market. There was so much stuff there, at fantastic prices, and I bought loads of souvenirs for friends back home.

I also took snaps from things that caught my eye, including:

a gecko,

local architecture,

and a beautiful statue

It was a great tour, and I totally recommend it, when in Bali.

And that's all for today. I hope you liked my post, and that you will follow me to the next one.

So have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

Text references:
1.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ubud_Monkey_Forest

Sort:  

The funny little girl looks curious of who you are :D
You can check out travelfeed. It's a new travel curation project. Here are the requirements :)

https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts

hi wanderlass. yes, she probably was :D
thanks, i'll have a look. cheers

Beautiful pictures, I would like to visit the market too :) and the monkeys look really friendly in the pictures!

thank you. yes they were good monkeys :D


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE by @koskl Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57