Visiting the Ben Youssef Madrasa in Marrakesh, Morocco

in #travel8 years ago

Hello friends,

Today I am going to talk about my visit to the Ben Youssef Madrasa in Marrakesh, Morocco, which I made back in January 2009.

The Ben Youssef Madrasa was the largest madrasa (educational institution) in all of Morocco. It was founded in the 14th century, but re-built in the 16th century by the Sultan Abdallah al-Ghalib (1557–1574). Its 130 student dormitory cells are arranged around a courtyard richly decorated in cedar wood, marble and stucco. The carvings contain no representation of humans or animals as required by Islam, and consist entirely of inscriptions and geometric patterns.

The beautiful carvings of the madrasa

Dormitory cells

And that's the end of today's post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to the next one. Have a good day, and speak to you soon!

P.S. All images are mine unless otherwise stated.

References
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Youssef_Madrasa.

Sort:  

Thank you zaskia 8-)

@koskl I like the tiles. I think I saw them on one of ikea's kitchen a long time ago similar not exactly the same :)

Thanks englishtcrivy! You have a lot of beautiful tiles in England too. Especially the ones around old fireplaces.

@koskl you're welcome. Not in England - in Holland atm :)

Nice photos, I enjoyed it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40