Visiting Goa Batu Cermin, Flores, Indonesia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

In this post I will talk about the Batu Cermin Cave in Flores, Indonesia.

Batu Cermin means ‘mirror rock’ in Indonesian. The locals gave this name to the cave, because through a hole, sunshine finds its way into the cave’s inside, where it bounces on the stone walls, and reflects in many directions, like a mirror, illuminating the whole area (1).

Image from http://images1.rri.co.id

The cave lies in the middle of a forest, where long-tailed monkeys and wild boars live.

Walking in that forest, towards the entrance of the cave, I got an eerie feeling. Something like watching the Blair Witch Project :D

We climbed a ladder to the entrance of the cave, and after a series of pre-chambers, we entered the actual ‘mirror rock’ site.

Stalactites

Doesn't that look like an old lady?

Light = Life

Inside the cave, there are many colonies of bats, and loads of spiders. To see the bats, you had to go through a hole in the rock. As I am no Batman, and I am actually a bit claustrophobic, I decided to give it a miss.

The others went in, and they told me afterwards that it was awesome. Tough luck.

Towards the exit, one of the group became excited, and decided to play Tarzan :D

Monkey business

I also found this video on YouTube about the cave. It shows some features of the cave with captions, and ... some bats!

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next one.

This is the last post I'm doing about mystic Flores, as I've run out of pictures. It could be that I find some more pictures in one of my external hard drives, but that isn't very probable.

Next destination will be beautiful, exotic Bali!

So, have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from http://florestourism.com/districts/batu-cermin-limestone-cave/.

Sort:  

Nice story, interesting place, nice pictures.

Have you ever have heard of steemitworldmap.com ?
Maybe if you would mark the spot on that service, your posts would gain even more value and attraction.

thank you onealfa! i've heard of it, actually.
i'll grab some coffee, and then i'll check it out.
happy new year.

#photography
there really is also like that in other parts of the world, I was surprised

yes, many such places in the world, nasional. happy new year.

#photography
only this time I was amazed to see it, something really beautiful

thank you!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=koskl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-goa-batu-cermin-flores-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

This post has received a 0.92 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @koskl.

Nice trip, feel much more free

pssst .. is that you doing the monkey business ? haha

and who was holding the camera? lol

nah, i am fat and plump

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33