My last impressions from Machu Picchu, PerusteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

Today will be my third and last post about Machu Picchu, the Inca citadel in the Sacred Valley of Peru. I would like to share these last pictures with you because I found the place awe-inspiring, and hopefully through my pictures you will also see what I saw.

Let's look now at the famous rocks of Machu Picchu, that luckily escaped destruction from the Conquistadors.

Funerary Rock

The Funerary Rock is believed to be the place where Incan nobility were mummified (1).

The Intiwatana

The Intiwatana is a ritual stone associated with the astronomic calendar of the Inca. It was aligned with the sun's position during the winter solstice (2).

Did you notice the butterfly in the previous picture? According to Chaos Theory, a butterfly flapping its wings in New Mexico can cause a hurricane in China!

Sacred Rock

The Sacred Rock likely served as a communal area for meetings and performances. Its shape follows the shape of the sacred mountain across the valley.

And last but not least, the Principal Temple. The Principal Temple is a fine example of Inca stone masonry, with its large stone blocks polished smooth and joined perfectly. The jumbling of the stones in the right corner is due to the movement of the earth over the years, and not to any defect in construction.

Behind the Principal Temple, you can see the people climbing up towards the Astronomical Observatory.

The Principal Temple

And as they say, all good things come to an end. I couldn't stay there for ever, it was time to go back to Aguas Calientes, the terminal, to catch the train back to Cusco. I would advise you though, if you ever visit Machu Picchu, to consider staying overnight at a local hotel, and watch the sun rise over the site. I believe the view would be something to remember.

Aguas Calientes

And that's the end of today's post. I hope you liked my pictures, and that you were intrigued by Machu Picchu. Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References
1.Text from http://peruoctober2011.blogspot.gr/2011/12/machu-picchu.html.
2.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inti_Watana,_Urubamba.
3.Text from http://fractalfoundation.org/resources/what-is-chaos-theory/.

Sort:  

@koskl a friend of mine has just been here , unfortunately she posted on fbuk, they were feeding lamas?

i think i didn't see anyone feeding lamas on Machu Picchu. Funny you said that, they say that lamas are the lawn mowers of Machu Picchu, as they eat all the grass lol

@koskl she just bumped into 2 and fed them bananas
I wish I could make her Steemit than fb I'll try asking her bf he probably has more interest in crypto.

yes please! i would like to see the place as it is now. when i went there, it was more than 7 years ago.
Did you notice we are being flagged?

@koskl I think only my comments are getting flagged hahaha
let it be ;)

great photos once again and thanks for the infos too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84