Kanawa revisited, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

This is the second post I am doing for Kanawa, that beautiful island of Flores, Indonesia. You can read the first one, if you so wish, at:
https://steemit.com/travel/@koskl/kanawa-heaven-is-a-place-on-earth

I decided to go there because a local person told me it was one of the best places around for swimming and snorkeling. I didn't do any snorkeling unfortunately, but I definitely did a lot of swimming, and lazing around on the beach.

I remember when we were approaching Kanawa by boat, it was like looking at those travel brochures about Maldives, or Bora Bora; an island that had grown out of a coral reef, in the middle of nowhere. And the water, having that shimmery mix of blue and green, beckoning you to just dive in. Being a Cancer by star sign, water is, literally and metaphorically, in my blood.

The accomodation when I visited back in 2010 was pretty basic; some detached bungalows, and the restaurant. To save energy, the power generator would go into sleep mode in the evenings, and you had to make do with candles, torches, and the moonlight.And no wi-fi of course.

I had the presidential suite, or more like a one-room bungalow with an en-suite, consisting of a hole on the floor for toilet, and a hose for a shower.

I would wake up in the morning from the kids lying in the hammock next to my bungalow; they rose up so early, bless them :-(

My bungalow

My bed

I also had a cat lying right above my bed during my stay there, on the exposed beams of the roof. Couldn't even scratch my nose without her looking.

Zzzzzzzz

I remember sitting on the beach from the afternoon till dusk, watching the sky go through so many shades of colour, until the sun went down.

It was a free show; everyone was invited, and no bookings needed. You just grabbed a chair, or sat on the sand.

Views from the beach

Dawn

Dusk

To sum up, visiting Kanawa was one of my most relaxing moments in my life. I remember that one day there was no wind at all, the sea was warm and calm, and I felt like I was in heaven. Complete nirvana.

And ... that's the end of this post.

I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next one.

Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

Sort:  

I want to go there now!
did you swim?

of course i did. swim like a duck :D

hahahaha
I can't imagine :D a Jedi swimming like a duck
quack :D

This is awesome. I want to visit there

thank you rifkan. yes, amazing place.

This post has received gratitude of 1.23 % from @appreciator thanks to: @koskl.

Beautiful island photos! And i noticed that animals like peeking at you, first the gecko in Labuan Bajo and now the cat hahaha. She's cute. Btw, I'm a Cancer too :)

thank you wanderlass. yes, animals seem to like me.
Mosquitos, they adore me :D

You must be a good hooman! :p

I'm not too bad :D thank you.

This post has received a 1.60 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @koskl.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=koskl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kanawa-revisited-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

kenawa dong om di review..bagus kelihatanya

Terima kasih!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30