Tortoise eating my GoPro

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

This was a funny story that happened in the Galapagos.

The biggest island over there is called Santa Cruz. It is one of the older Island that does not have an active volcano anymore. It has a big mountain area, a former volcano, which are called the highlands. These lands are full of big Galapagos tortoises, which like to graze there on the luscious gras.

Santa Cruz is one of the island that has some farms pretty high up in these mountains. Only 3% of the Galapagos is not part of the national park and as a result, one can go there and just watch the tortoises, because they are on these private lands. It is otherwise actually quite hard to see many tortoises, since the places where they live and breed are usually very protected.

I really wanted to get close to one of these and film them when they are eating the gras. The rule is to not be closer than 2m (6 feet) from these animals. I thought I will outsmart this rule by placing my camera on the in front of the Tortoise since it was slowly moving forward.

So I mounted the GoPro using my backpack just in front of this tortoise with the karma grip (that new gimbal thing GoPro released with its drone so one can make steady shots). That should make for some nice footage, I thought.

Well, the tortoise had different ideas. Whatch what happened:

If you like these tortoises I have another video I shot about one year earlier. The weather was quite different and the gras much greener.

Thanks for watching and reading. I appreciate your votes and comments.

I follow everyone who interacts with me and vote several times a day.

Enjoy and steemon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63