Active User / New User Analysis from 15.Sept until today.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@knircky mentioned yesterday, that he likes to see Report about active users  vs. new users over a longer period of time. So I thought, ok, I can do that, put in all the data by hand from my daily Report's in an excel sheet, and here it is.




The result surprises even me, active users are lower then 3 month ago, but we have way more accounts....   What are your thought's ?

Sort:  

Well, I would expect active users to be down this time of year. New people aren't addicted yet like you and me :)

We are Steemit junkies :)

Thank you for putting in the work.

This is really the meet of the matter, when it comes to measure how steem performs. Unfortunately it does not look good, but at least we have something to work with.

Great data and charts. I will comment on it a bit more later.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I can see this on the platform without data. Less posts each day. More accounts means nothing, 0. Real accounts are only those that post and/or curate. It just shows how many accounts are dud dead accounts now.

New accounts that aren't active doesn't equal dead accounts. I remember when I signed up for facebook the first time, wasn't active there either at first.

Exactly, until you come and do things, you're account has no activity = dead, just like any account that is registered and does nothing. Alleged "future plans" to engage in activity does not render an account "active" from an inactive, dead or dud state.

We definitely need more people blogging and curating ! It should pick up after the New Year when things calm down and everyone's staying inside out of the cold ! Lol ! Then everyone will start steeming up a storm ! Lol !🌪🌬🌪🌦⛈

Yep, I think the Christmas season might be a big reason as to why there are less users these days. Most people are busy with their family and preparing for Christmas.

It is Christmas time. I expect a slight increase of active users in early January. If not no problem. The UI needs to be simplified to attract less tech oriented users. I am happy with the cheap Steem ; )

I think it is all about price of Steem right now. Activity and price feed off of each other.

Does the green mean new users ? Blue is active users .So green is more active then blue !? I'm obviously missing something here lol ! 😊

No green are Accounts in TSD and blue are the active users x 100. So we have about 120 TSD Accounts and only around 3500 active users, same more or less then 3 month ago. But 3 month ago we had only 90 TSD accounts...

TSD ? it's 5 am I get to go home soon to bed ! Lol ! 😂

thousand

This may be a no-no, but I think it's because the third-party add-ons are free. They should be charging for their services.

It must get more fun! Gamification!

PS Maybe steemit.inc could reward accounts that reach a milestone !

That would be nice, awesome idea!

Having fewer and fewer active users is a bad sign. Interestingly I think there is a large number of people "keeping one eye on steeemit" to see if things turn around. It is an interesting concept, but I don't think it is up to the standards of a Reddit or Digg. Having been in Media, I think this is one platform that is underestimating the value editors can bring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43