..alone in Viet Nam #6

in #travel7 years ago

Day 10
Hoi An – Hue
156 km
..I spent several wonderful days in Hoi An – a beautiful town with a dirty secret.. Hoi An is perfect place for partying, meeting other travellers, eating bahn mi and purchasing custom made goods.. I treated myself with two pairs of custom made sandals.. so.. a happy girl.. but beside all this awesomeness, in the evening you have to be a bit careful as the local gang is pretty aggressive towards the tourists.. one eve a British girl got her head smashed with a glass when she refused to go on the scooter home.. but, I guess stuff like that can happen anywhere..
..but I was lucky enough not to get in any trouble while partying with some of the people that I already met in Nha Trang a week ago and we all caught up in the last days in Hoi An.. was great to see them all again, and I am wondering when our paths will cross next..
..but today, I set off around 9 to drive the famous Hai Van Pass between Hoi An and Hue.. it is said to be one of the most beautiful roads in Vietnam.. but it was not my lucky day today.. after my first kilometres, the sunny weather turned into dense mysterious fog on my right side of the road, which I thought is pretty nice even if I could not see anything, but the higher I got, the more dramatic the weather became.. it started pouring rain, well, it was actually a proper thunderstorm.. and do you remember how you counted the seconds between the lightning and the thunder in childhood.. well.. today there was no need to count, they were both happening simultaneously just above my head..
..and so I drove this marvellous piece of road with rain ferociously whipping my face and hands, the raincoat turned out to be pretty useless as I was drenched to the bone.. and my backpack was not properly waterproofed so now my dorm room looks like just after a laundry day..
..but nevertheless, new experiences and new road ahead of me tomorrow..

IMG_20170503_165123_389.jpg

IMG_20170503_164952_439.jpg

IMG_20170505_150429_137.jpg

IMG_20170505_173603_383.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, awesome photos! I'm planning to travel to Ho Chi Minh for a quick vacation in the next two weeks. Any advices for most see places?

hey hey.. HCMC is a very noisy and crazy place.. I would recommend the streetfood stret in District 4, and District one is never sleeping.. so just enjoy that madness.. :D

Thanks mate! Can I use Uber or any similar taxi rental app there?

Taxi is so cheap that there is no need for uber.. ;D

Well I use Uber mostly for convenience rather than price efficiency. In the last year in Malaysia I never used any taxi and never suggest anyone for the bad service offered from them.

Congratulations @kerija! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Great photos @kerija.
I would like to visit Vietnam, when do you think is best time of year to do that?

thanks.. :)

Vietnam is tricky.. as the south and north are very diverse weatherwise.. but I would say the best time is april/may as then it's less possibility of rain.. and.. do it with a motorbike.. that is the wayto see everything..

Okay, thank you.
I always rent a car or scooter to see more things, that is also great tip!

Yes.. that is the way as the buses will never take you to the most remote and most mesmerizing places..

Did not really like the pass toooooo much. Was lucky and had only the clouds but no rain. Nice views? Yes! But I like it more in the mountains far away from the busy roads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36