Why People Need to Spend More Time in Nature (Steemit Original)

in #travel8 years ago

More and more, people are spending their time inside working all of the time or only playing video games all day long. Even in neighborhoods with children, the streets and backyards are empty because so many times they are just inside on social media, texting, or playing video games. No one seems to want to go out in nature anymore, and that is a big problem.

Nature can be an incredibly beautiful sight to take in. When you are out in nature, you can breathe in the sweet fresh air. This is great for your mental state of mind and your immunity. If you are depressed or feeling anxious, going out in nature can be a straightforward and inexpensive way to feel a lot better. You can go out for a run or just sit outside and enjoy a book. Studies have shown that being out in nature decreases cortisol, which is a stress hormone. People in nature also have a lower blood pressure and lower pulse rate.

Spending time in nature has also been proven to improve your mood. People in nature begin to feel better about themselves and they have more energy. They are also able to sleep better at night. The sunlight is also beneficial to people outside. When you are outside in the sun, you can get an increase of vitamin D, which can help to prevent things like cancer, osteoporosis, and a decrease in the chance of a heart attack.
These are not the only benefits that you can get from being out in nature.
If you are someone who is in a field where creativity is important, being outside in nature can help you out. Studies have also shown that when you are out in nature, you will get that creative inspiration that you have been looking for. It can also help your soul.

Being in nature can help you get serenity, calm, and peace that can be not just great for your soul but also for your physical self. It can also offer you the same feeling that you get when you are meditating. It has been shown that being out in nature offers the same brain waves as meditation can.

When you are out in nature, you do not have to deal with the same societal pressures that you would when you are in your normal life. You can disconnect with the “real world” and focus on yourself. You can become a healthier and happier person, helping you to become a better you. Nature is something that people are just not enjoying anymore, and that is a shame because it is a free way to spend your time. Be bold and adventurous. Take the time to go outside every now and again so that you can get some of the benefits of being out in nature. Be free and enjoy the world.

Other articles I have written today

How Having Lots Of Money Is bad
How To Hack The Time In Your Day
Get With The times! Throw That Old Fashioned Attitude out!

Sort:  

@kaylinart
Nice post!
Quick question... the first photo of the girl. Do you know who that is by chance? Is that you?
Please don't take this reply as criticism. I curiously would like to know!

That's me (in drag).

LOL! Thats a great comment so funny!

Nope I don't know who that is! I wish that was me! I'm working on a hiking article where I will have some selfies.

That's cool. Thanks for the reply!
My heart dropped for a second when I saw that pic. It's EERILY similar... and I mean like by 99% eerily similar to my Ex . aka my Baby's Momma!!!

OH my gosh, Thats why I used that picture! Like she looks familiar to me too! Maybe her facial features are common?!

LOL. It's a small world if so! I don't have any recent digital photos of her to post, obviously.
But I think my son still has a photo of her in his room.
If so, I'll post it here and you'll see what I'm talking about!

Found one lol. This was taken about 14yrs ago.

I see quite a few people wishing they had more access to nature. I think it's important that we as a species start integrating natural spaces into our cities and urban areas more, what do you think?

I agree, Maybe we should also consider trying to avoid increasing our population a bit, I feel like as there are more people, Less nature will be around :(

Totally agree with this! I'd go batshit crazy if I didn't have regular access to nature. I used to live near downtown LA for seven years and I was very fortunate to have two beautiful parks within walking distance. I'd take walks every single day as my therapy and meditation. I now live in Valdivia, Chile which has plenty of lush surroundings, rivers, and the ocean not too far away which is one of my absolute favorite things about living here. At the moment, my boyfriend and I live right beside a wetland so we get to enjoy some neat wildlife.

Oh gosh Chile sounds so beautiful! I hope to go there one day :)
I love the ocean!
What other kinds of wildlife do you see?

Come visit us once we have the Fort Galt community set up! :) It's going to be built right along the Pacific coast in a beautiful spot that's adjacent to a nature reserve.

There's so much to see in Chile, we've really only scratched the surface! I'm dying to visit Tierra de Fuego in Patagonia and the Atacama desert to the far north (where you'll find some of the most breathtaking views of the Milky Way). We're planning to do a road trip sometime in the next month or two. I can hardly wait!!

The main wildlife we see are exotic looking birds. My favorite are these fellas:

I call them Thoth birds. =^_^=

I need to do that!!! That sounds so cool and I love birds! I'm definitely writing that on my list heheh :)

I agree too! I live across the street from a 200 acre undeveloped park with streams and lakes and hills and all kinds of trees and animals; it's pretty cool! I like to walk and run in there often. :)

I'm jealous! I live far from nature, But I got hiking often. I also go out for runs! I wish I lived closer to nature!

I could not agree more! My dream is to be a full time entrepreneur so I can be out in nature more often. Thanks for writing this! Well said!

Thank you :) I barley became a full time Entrepreneur it's great!!
Just try a bit more everyday you'll get there! Then you can experience the greatness of nature.

100% right. I think people are slowly getting back to nature. Perhaps not so much to the countryside yet but one can notice an increasing demand for green areas in cities. Big parks are being used and enjoyed properly. It's not perfect but it's a start for those born and raised in the urban jungle.

True I hope we keep seeing that stuff and they cut back on building buildings!

Yes. There are plenty of buildings that need restoration. New buildings should be built upon demand and special request and not for speculation.

I know you have a post coming out soon in the future about travel and wondered if you have travel gear or anything you might want to sell on a place like Decentralized Steemit Marketplace it's very early, but I think it might be a great place to showcase something you've done if you decide to take some cool pictures

I would love to sellcoloring books on it at some point :)

I think that would be awesome! You could offer a digital version for no shipping or a physical copy as well. If you know other people that might be interested in selling any goods or services, I think the more traction the post gets, the more likely the developers are to work tirelessly on rolling it out for the benefit of all! Any ideas you have to add to my own would be appreciated too!

Nice post really feel in touch to nature

I would go crazy without a few camping trips each year. This year I spent a week on the shores of Lake Huron, phone off, relaxing with friends and family. No better way to put all the distractions aside and focus on what really matters.

OH that sounds pretty :) Nature and family really is what matters the most!

@ajvest
That is CREEPY! You are right she looks exactly like the girl in the photo! Are you sure she's not some sort of model these days? hahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51