A Break & a Breather. Hawaii. Art. Hiking. Poetry.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Having been what many call a "creative" my whole life, I find it hard to walk past and NOT smell the roses.

I've always struggled in 9 - 5 jobs, stir-crazy and distracted. Constantly feeling that I'm wasting presious time. Time, I could be using to paint the view I saw after hiking to the top of that one majestic mountain. Time, I could be hiking a majestic mountain, or writing the story of hiking that one freakishly majestic mountain. lol.

Whether I was getting caught doodling in class or making faces in my coffee at work...it was obvious I needed to embrace a creative outlet. Lol

I like to experience and report, recreate...share. Thats why Im here on Steemit. It's gives me a platform on which I can do just that. It's a world with work hours I look forward to, and connects me with people I want to know and share minds with.

Ive decided to start posting daily morning sketches as I have planned to do while on my 6 month Appalachian Trail hike. Each will come with a tid bit of written explination or insparation. Along, with these daily drawings I will also continue to post other works I have going on, with my usual splash of poetry and photography.

I've searched long and hard to find a productive way to be me, in a world that wants me to be someone else. I'd rather use my skills, which are also my passions to earn my true honest living... even if its never much. I could never be something other than what I am- an artist, a creative, a writer. I will never be hard hitting attorney, and I was never meant to be a bartender. And I'm definitely not just another "consumer". I refuse flu shots, and sell essential oils. I have no desire to watch television. Instead, I prefer painting the details of a time sensitive flower magnified to twice my own size...just so I can stand before it when Im finished and see what it feels like to be tiny. I dont care about the latest fashions, or what the new smart phone can do. Id rather sleep under the stars with the smell of pine and dirt, then in a hotel of chlorine linens and perfumed carpets.

Steemit allows me to have my nitch in the world. People stop and say "Your doing what!?" Hiking in the wild for 6 months by yourself !? What if you run into a bear? What if you get lost, what if, what if, what if...""Well, I'll either live to tell the story or be famous on the news for a day. Lol" But either way they want to hear about it, because it's outside the box. ...Im outside the box. And I love it out here.

I dont want to climb over my neighbors, in city life. I dont want to worm my way into some high paying, respect demanding, corprate profile. I just want to be loved for my humility, my humble talents and my hard work. Most of all I want to be a good mom, and show my daughter how rewarding life can be if you don't take everything but rather give. If you charish what you have, instead of swooning over what you don't. To have passion, to fall victim to adventure, to leave out the grain of salt, to have a choice.

I want to be your distraction and give you a break from the non-stop pressures and drama of how our lives can be and so often are. I want to take you away, help you escape if only for a few minutes. Through my art and other works. I want to borrow your mind, give your heart a moment to breath. You deserve it, and thats why I was put here... Im a speed bumb...I want to show you how the roses smell.

Let me connect you for a moment with Kauai



Variety is the spice of life.



Glass Sand Beach Kauai


And if I may, a penny for your thoughts. Up-voting and comments alike are helpful to me, and Im aware the road goes both ways.

Whose money is each vote? Money is so frustrating to me. My "heart" doesnt need it, nor want it. However, like you, Im trapped by the ruling thumb of what is nessisary to survive. So, I buy my water, to prevent being fined for collecting my own. I pay for my food and rent the roof over my head, because I just cant afford to buy my own land. I pay for a license for the companionship of my dog. Yes, I need money. Even to purchasing a pass to show my daughter historic land marks or to share with her the breath taking view from the edge of the Grand Canyon. I give what little I have to offer. If you follow me already, thank you. If your just meeting me I'm honored to have you a long.

House hunting in Kauai in my price range...giggle


Ok my regulars I need your help...which hat should I wear on my thru-hike 14 states...Georgia to Maine starting this coming March for 6 months.

Where Im from, Where Im going, or...well.. a' um mermaid.

And a poem...by yours truely..

Stir Me

I add to my life what is needed,
And discard whatevers not.
I love and live completely,
Which means "I do what I want"
The passion in my heart,
Is a firey sea of sparks.
When this world stirs me round,
I burn my marks I works of art.

By Kate Cloud

Sort:  

Good read not sure about the spam though lol :) That rose is beautiful

droping this here you might be able to give us a hand.
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemfest/calling-all-artists-your-art-on-steemfest

check it out, it a call for artists on steemit. you have a great talent.

nice artwork and post! Following!

You are funny and great artist :)
take my upvote

Nice. I love your attitude. My favorite for you to wear is the one in the terre cotta color.

I really enjoyed your post. It was a breath of fresh air as it was light , funny, and charming. I love the photos you decided to add. Keep up the great work!

Is "mermaid" going to be your trail name on the AT?

Loving that glass beach, great for jewellery making, though probably not so great for marine life.

I love it, I would love to live there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97