You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Short trip to the Carpathians - up for impressions

in #travel7 years ago

These mountains feel so familiar and yet I have never been there...in this life anyway. My ancestors are from this region.

Sort:  

And where exactly are your ancestors?

A great uncle often told me stories about "the old country" he spoke of Carpathia. I have relatives scattered around Romania and Hungary. Some of my ancestors come from a place called Szabolcs many many years ago when it was the home of one of the leaders of the Magyars. It is my family name...although my father shortened his to Szabó.
My uncle told of stories passed down through time when a lot of the land belonged to Hungary. When the Magyars were feared and respected. Székely is another. All around the Transylvanian area was where many lived. My uncle refused to think of this being now part of Romania.

Well, Western Ukraine was once also part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, so I know it.

My mother's family are Austrian, and my father's Hungarian....so very empirical haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51