A small getaway to Lugano

in #travel6 years ago

One of the cool things about living in Europe again is being able to travel easily and relatively cheap to the most beautiful places. Yes, in the Caribbean this was also possible. But the options were more limited. So I enjoying myself and living the good life, and this even in my own country of Switzerland!



IMG-20180817-WA0100.jpg

Swimming in Lake Lugano





But how the hell did I get in Lugano all of a sudden?



Quite easy actually, I had a visitor from the Caribbean and then you want to show the nicest places of the country that you are living in now. And one of the things that was totally not part of my plan was bad weather! Because yeah, even though it has been the most awesome endless summer here, every now and then a big phat pour falls out of the sky! Which is totally fine by me, but it limits your outdoor activity possiblities.

A little bird then told be that visiting the other side of the Alps might be a brilliant idea. With a 2 hours train ride Lugano isn't at all far away for Luzern but totally worth visiting. It is still Switzerland, but if you did'nt know better, you would truly think that you were in Italy. The speech is Italian, the houses are Italian, and the food is Italien, yet you still ay everything with Swiss Francs. But don't expect anybody to answer back in German. I felt like a proper tourist hahah!





Another thing that is possible to do is to take a cable car ride up *Monte San Salvatore*. This is with an old cable car which was actually build in 1888 (which I totally find crazy, that's a damn long time ago. I am amazed by the fact that they were already capable of making these kinds of things). It takes you up about 700 meters, and up there a beautiful view is awaiting you! Have a bite or walk into the musuem up the hill and just enjoy the scenery! There were also loads of hiking routes on the mountain which actually looked very appealing, but my flipflops as only shoewear were kind of a showstopper in the one hahahah. And besides, this was a bit of a luxery getaway. Hiking I will do again later in the week!

But wauw the Lugano scenery is just breathtaking! Let me leave this beauty just right here and admire the beauty of this place!



IMG-20180817-WA0024.jpg




Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

Very nice to see you have some free time as well, stunning scenery indeed! :)

yeah the environment is the bomb man...but yours isnt that bad as well, and quite similar! hope you are enjoying your weekend at the river!

Definitely looks similar :) it surely was magical weekend..

Oh yes euro summers.. man so many lovely memories. What I loved most was the ease of train journeys when I lived between Prague and Budapest, always ready for a detour or weekend in Slovakia or Croatia.

Even better is when we would road trip and find the unknown spots. One day I intend to go on a euro car camping adventure with the missus and little. Thanks for sharing this little gem, definitely adds to the list. Oh and whhat happened to the island girl? I already know you can hike in flip flops lol! 😅

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Being a tourist in your home country is an awesome experience especially if you share the experience with friends who are visiting for the first time! Beautiful photos.

yeah it is really cool to explore together and discover new places!
A new country in general drains energy but also gives you so much from everything you see and learn

Gaaf daar gingen wij als gezin vroeger naartoe op vakantie

dat is cool! Heb ik van meer mensen gehoord de laatste tijd dat ze daar op vakantie gingen, ik snap helemaal waarom! Wel een duur geintje joh!

Ja dat is waarom mijn ouders daarna doorreden om vanaf het jaar daarop alleen maar in Italië vakantie te vieren !

snap ik helemaal! 20 km verder en je betaald ineens de helft voor hetzelfde soort vakantie hehe

Hey Karin!
Oh I love Lugano!
Next time you should stop in Bellinzona and come visit me... the only and unique Steemitri The Mannequin, haha.
If you are still in Ticino, you are invited for a coffee ;-)

Big Plastic Hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

How super sweet of you @steemitri ! Yeah the train went to Bellizona, big urban stuff there. Not a bad environment that you live in there !!

Im already back in Lucerne, let me know as well when you are there for a coffee (or a local beer ofcourse! haha)

Oh my god. I love your photos - they are always so beautiful and makes me want to be European. do you REALISE how lucky you are???

hahahah, I DO madame. I realize it is a crazy luxury to be able to travel around, have three countries that I can call home and loving people around me. Europe has so much to offer and I will take that opportunity with two hands!

I just love Switzerland. The country is so beautiful and offers so much variety. The pictures you took are great. Makes me want to visit this amazing country as soon as possible again :)

If you ever have the chance, surely do!! (and bring a bag of money because it aint cheap here hahahha) Not but seriously, the diversity of the landscape of really something cool. Cities mountains, lakes...it has everything!

Oh man that looks amazing, makes me want to go back to lake Balaton again lol.. I now have a love for balaton :) hahaha...
Funny how these beautiful spots can be just around the corner right? And only a little bit of traveling will make you feel like a tourist again!

Thanks to @anomadsoul making me "A whale for a day" by following my vote while he is traveling, my vote will be followed directly by his vote with the same percentage. So thanks to this you will receive a much higher upvote than I could give with my own Steem Power.

Have a great weekend!

Yeah sometimes its just nice to do the touristy stuff! People travel the world to see these kinds of places for a reason. We should all just enjoy it!

You better take me there if I ever go and visit u!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67