๐Ÿ™๏ธ Weekend Getaway: Adventures in Chicago ๐Ÿ™๏ธ

in #travel โ€ข 7 years ago

America is HUMONGOUS, and there is always so much to explore. Recently, I had the opportunity to fly out to Chicago for a weekend getaway with my friend Ez. This was my first time exploring this great city, and I loved every moment of it. Chicago is known for its beautiful buildings built by some of the best architects.

14409684_10155263814207926_4479144401835343352_o.jpg

To give you some background about Chicago history, on October 8th 1871, the Great Chicago Fire occurred, destroying thousands of buildings, estimating $200 million in damages. While this fire was deviating, the city of Chicago reconstructed all of the city, which spurred great economic and population growth.

It was so neat to see and witness some of these beautiful and enormous structural buildings.

Here are some fun photos from my adventure.
21463143_10209373392522329_3231154608231139247_n.jpg

14435084_10157497951535076_4161614884608911797_o.jpg
*I was reunited with some of my Texas friends! It has been over 4 years since I last saw them!

IMG_0314.JPG
*The Bean was my favorite art sculpture!

IMG_0475.JPG
*Of course we had to be touristy, and go up to the glass tower observatory to see the city from way up high!

Thanks for stopping by to read! Hope you are all having a lovely day.

Sort: ย 

Chicago went last years for a few days, loved it!
upvoted! always like your post and inpressed by the work you put in.
keep them coming.
Travelled for four years and blog about it now.

aww thanks! :) OOOO what is your favorite place that you've travel too?

So many nice places, loved the Vanuatu Islands but i am more off a city person, must name Tokyo as well.
Lived in Toronto and must say not bad either.

OOOO Japan is amazing! I want to spend sometime there! :) I've never been to Toronto yet. On my list of places to go :)

My list is so long to! followed so i could keep an eye out for your blogs, hope you can travel as much as you can.

Aww thanks! โค yes that would be the dream!

WOW!!! I Love this! I need to go more places! Chicago looks awesome hehe.

aww :) Yes yes! When is your roadtrip to California happening? :)

OMG! Thanks for the resteem chica! You are just the sweetest! :)

Hi.
I live in Chicago since 2000 it is really beautiful city.
The more I'm glad you liked it here. Plus you hit the really great weather.
Enjoy ๐Ÿ‘

aww how lucky! :) I'll have to come back to visit.

There is so many thing to do for everyone

@karensuestudios
Oct 8th you said..๐Ÿ˜‹ what a coincidence... My birthdate... So keep it in mind as am gonna fly down on a flying carpet and sweep you off you off your feet to an adventure exploring a new world...๐Ÿ˜Ž Great info on a great city...as always looking sweet and happy... ๐Ÿ˜˜

HAHHAHA! oh man maybe you were the rebirth when the fire happened. :) LOL magic carpet ride? MY FAVORITE! hahah :)

Sure and will gift you a magic lamp ... Containing a genee... Allowing u for only 3 wishes... ๐Ÿ‘ป That reminds me do u use fish as fertilizer...updated on it๐Ÿ˜

Ahahahaha okay. Can I use one wish? Hi hi! Do you mind if I ask you for a favor? I'm trying to win a competion and I'm a couple votes away from winning. Do you mind voting on my comment on this link? https://steemit.com/sgt/@steemitgottalent/official-update-steemits-got-talent-season-1-week-8-has-begun-increased-the-prizes-dont-miss-your-chance-to-win-and-qualify-for

Granted...100% upvote coming your way in a jiffy... Remaining 2 more wishes from.thr genee of d lamp...choose wisely...๐Ÿ‘ป

Ah that is my old home town--a remarkable place. Glad you enjoyed your time there.

Thank you! Your old hometown is amazing! Cool you got to live there.

I like Chicago, it is a great city - but it is also one of the most dangerous cities in the US.

Great pictures, thanks:)

I know it is so sad with the amount of crime, but it is an amazing city.

Awesome i was just in Chicago at the bean on Sunday night. What was your favorite part? Mine was visiting Wrigley

I went on an architect boat ride. That was so cool to learn about this history of the city.

Chicago is an amazing city that many take for granted.

it is beautiful!

Observatories with a glass floor are so cool!

hehe yes!!! Loved the view.

OHH wow! This is so cool. How do you add places you've been on there?

You add this code !steemitworldmap 45.782685 lat -34.312676 long
To your post- but change the latitude and longitude to the location from your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50