🏖️ Be a tourist in your own backyard: find joy now! (full video inside 📽️)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

It is easy to take your life for granted, especially when you have lived in the same location for many years. When I visit my friends that live in different cities, they often play tourist with me. I am always surprised when my friends say to me, “this is my first time exploring this area, and I’ve lived here my whole life.”

12711212_10154563217617926_7475087162006253492_o.jpg

You don’t always have to travel elsewhere to explore and find different cultures or have interesting experiences. It might just be in your backyard. I live in the great state of California, but this was not always the case. Not originally being from California has given me a fresh perspective and curious heart.

Every winter I buy a season pass so I can ski up in the beautiful mountains in lake Tahoe. I enjoy visiting San Francisco in the summer to escape the Sacramento heat. I enjoy attending art walks, playing at the park with my friends and attending craft fairs in Sacramento (where I currently live). I like to pretend that I’m on vacation every day!

12484769_10154470704222926_3282034180234613717_o.jpg

As a result, I’ve connected with my local community and explored and participated in many of the wonderful events Sacramento has to offer. I hope today’s post inspires you to take a look at your current surroundings and go out and explore.

Here is a video of @acromott and I spending time to explore Sacramento the acrobatic way.

Sort:  

WOW!

aww thanks for the resteem! I really appreciate it :)

My pleasure! Fun stuff!

I live in Los Angeles and I feel the same as you about CA. Your post has inspired me to explore Sacramento, since I have not yet had that adventure. Thank you.

PS I recently watched another of @acromott 's videos and I was worried for his safety (;o) but it looks like you have the grace to pull it off. Nice video!

aww thanks for your awesome comment! When you visit Sacramento, reach out to @acromott and me... we are always looking to make new friends! I love visiting LA... so much to do there.

That's awesome that you saw one of @acromott's videos. He is a talented acrobat and I'm pretty lucky to get the opportunity to do acroyoga with him. :) Safety first. always!

same for you guys when you visit LA. I teach martial arts here and while it's not acrobatics, some of what we do can be quite challenging in that way.

What kind of martial arts? I use to be in taekwondo! Yellow belt green stripe... didn't make it that far because I got allergic to the mats there. But I loved the sport.

I teach Bujinkan. Here is a link to our dojo page : http://www.arizonabujinkan.org/santamonica/

Do you have a video of Bujinkan. I've never heard of that type of movement. That's pretty cool your in Santa Monica. The acro kids like to play on that beach on the greens!

I have a whole channel, here is one example:

WOW this is super amazing. It reminds me of they type of movement my friends all really enjoy. Being able to adapt and react helps keep you safe! I can't believe you rolled down the stairs so gracefully. :)

Exploring and adventures with you are always so fun.
:)

thanks mister! :) More to come.

Great travel

Great acro yoga video! I need a partner lol

hehe. Most cities have acroyoga groups you can join on FB. Check it out, it's a lot of fun!

This is so true, alot of people never explore there surroundings but it depends on where u live though, thanks for posting

This is true... some place can be easier to explore than others. I always find exploring out in nature to be really fun!

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/my-trip-to-canada

Will do thanks for the share.

That's the truth, when you resident in a particular place for long, you will be taking for granted.

I true. :) Got to keep exploring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32