My 'Canada 150' journey started in Jasper!

in #travel7 years ago

This weekend I started my "Canada 150" journey!

1.JPG

Canada is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year. In celebration of such special anniversary, access to all national parks will be free throughout the 2017. Such a great idea, eh?!

DSC00150.JPG

I started with Jasper because it is the closest to my home. As it turned out, I made a perfect decision.

2.JPG

The weather was fabulous from the early morning till late evening. It was sunny with no wind at all. The commute was quite long but it was most definitely worth the drive.

DSC00046.JPG

Arrival in Jasper was awarded with two scoops of delicious ice cream and the obvious souvenir shopping followed right after. I was pleasantly surprised when I found a souvenir shop, called Friends of Jasper National Park, that is 100% non-profit where all the proceeds go to supporting local community. It was a jackpot.

IMAG4076.jpg

After a stroll through Jasper downtown I decided to go further to visit Athabasca Falls which are located approximately thirty kilometers south of Jasper. This was my second time at the falls and the reason I returned was the tidy, well organized path around the sight. It was not crowded (yet) so I had lots of opportunities to capture some memories.

DSC00081.JPG

DSC00089.JPG

DSC00113.JPG

DSC00124.JPG

DSC00125.JPG

I am excited for my next trip to National Parks and I strongly recommend you doing the same. Just go out there while this short summer lasts and break the routine you are living in.

DSC00150.JPG

I would love to hear about your 'Canada 150' experience, suggestions and plans or any other traveling ideas outside of my country.

And of course, thank you very much for stopping by :)

Sort:  

Canada's nature and friendliness of the people there are unbeatable. I visited Canadian Rockies twice and I'm returning this year again! Can't wait!

This is nice to hear. No matter how short the summer is here it is great. Edmonton is not in very hilly area but there is so many festivals going on every year. Something for everyone!

Really beautiful photos. looks amazing!

Thanks @rangertx

These photographs are stunning! They take my breath away! It really makes me want to go back to Canada this year! The country is beautiful, and everyone so friendly!

Enjoy your journey, and I look forward to seeing more of it!

Thank you @akemirayko. I was just as amazed when I arrived there. I have so many photographs I had a hard time picking these out. Still, the best views were the ones without looking through the lens. I also got a bit sunburnt but at this point I don't care.

Beautiful photos my friend! I live in Calgary and love to get out of town and back in touch with nature.
Here is a link for all those that haven't got there free passes to our great national parks!
Click HERE

I appreciate your comment @acwood! Calgary must be great, it looks like a beautiful city to live in. And you are so close to the mountains.

I love it here. I moved here in 2001 and the mountains are awesome!
The drive through Kananaskis never gets old!

Oh I bet. Where did you move from?

I came up from California. I was working down there for a while. I've lived in Canada since 1957 when my parents emigrated from England and we lived up in the arctic!

That sounds like an interesting experience. I am glad you like it in Calgary now, from all the places you could have chosen.

Love it here but it is getting very expensive!

Such amazing pictures. Canada is such a stunning place!

It is true. I like the fact that it is so big and diverse one doesn't have to cross the border to find amazing new places. Of course winters are a little bit longer, but the summer makes it up for that.

That's a great point! It's a truly massive place and I guess that leaves room for a lot of diversity. I have never been there myself, but I would love to visit one day!

So which destinations do you recommend? I still have a few empty spots on my list.

Well, being from New Zealand I would definitely recommend there! Although I'm sure you are already used to nature, there is still a lot there to see. It's a beautiful country! I also love Melbourne if you want to visit a city :) And since I live in Korea... I have to recommend it haha. I think it's an amazing place with a lot of cultural heritage that also has a blend of extreme cutting edge modernity!

Oh wow, not only one but more recommendations. I love it, hopefully I will be able to visit both of them once. I will probably go to New Zealand before Korea but I am sure they are both amazing. Keep me posted on Korea, there is so many beautiful photos that you are posting!

It's hard for me to recommend just one place! I don't know which is the best myself. Awesome! I would love to heard about your experiences if you get to go there! Thanks a lot :) It means a lot to me! I will definitely keep posting don't worry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54