Leonardo's Hometown

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I was lucky to attend a high school that took us around Europe where we saw some important historical, cultural, and artistic places that expanded our horizons beyond the study books.

You can argue that was not luck. Well, maybe not. I admit I had many good influences growing up. One of them was my older sister who went to the same high school six years before me. She gave me great advice to do the same and it made my choice a lot easier.

Behind that was (most definitely) my parents wish to pick the right school that will give us the best foundation of common knowledge, study, and life skills. Not an easy decision.

Firence 2008 029.jpg

Overall, my supportive family gave me enough courage to leave the hometown from Monday to Friday and spend that time away from my elementary school friends and other relatives. It was one of the best decisions I (we) made. Although, it helped to have my twin sister by my side through those four years. We had a blast and made some friendships that will last a lifetime.

But enough about me. My main objective here was to show you the town of Vinci. You may have already connected the dots from the title, the first photograph and the name of the town.

Firence 2008 024.jpg

This was home of Leonardo da Vinci. If you are interested in reading more about him, do not hesitate to click here. I only have photo material in my post.

When we arrived in the town of Vinci we first noticed the simplicity and natural beauty of the place. Brick houses with classical orange roofs and stone wall around the town.

Firence 2008 021.jpg

There was a church which is a common necessity in almost every Italian town and city. The church of Santa Croce was built in the 13th century and it was later remade in neo-Renaissance style.

DSC04477.JPG

The scenery, narrow streets and simple houses reminded me of my hometown and made me think about the simple and slow paced life people led back in the days of Leonardo's childhood.

Firence 2008 022.jpg

I took a few shots of the house address plaques. I found them very interesting as they were written with what looked like a blue marker.

Firence 2008 019.jpg

Firence 2008 026.jpg

Vinci is located on a little hill which was I believe a truly strategic planning. I guess it made it convenient for the town guards back in the days so they had a good overview of the surroundings. For us it was merely a benefit where we were able to walk down the street and have a nice view over some rooftops.

DSC04421.JPG

We were the most interested in Museo Leonardiano which is a museum displaying a few of the inventions that are drawn in da Vinci's notebooks.

DSC04422.JPG

We could tell that we were on the right way when we noticed all the modern street art.

Firence 2008 016.jpg

I didn't expect all of the new statues and street decorations but I have to say it was a pleasant surprise. The mix of old and new was a good concept that I think represents da Vincis contributions to the life as we know it.

Firence 2008 017.jpg

A beautiful body perishes, but a work of art dies not.
~ Leonardo da Vinci

Firence 2008 020.jpg

These photos can speak for themselves. If you are familiar with Leonardo's work you might be more interested.

DSC04451.JPG

All knowledge which ends in words will die as quickly as it came to life, with the exception of the written word: which is its mechanical part.

DSC04452.JPG

DSC04453.JPG

I have always felt it is my destiny to build a machine that would allow man to fly.

DSC04470.JPG

I found it very fascinating that although I'm trying to remember all the items I saw that day, I can't remember much. I have more memories of the trip as a whole and the details escaped my mind. It is sad and it makes me want to go there again and pay more attention.

IMG_0418.JPG

Firence 2008 028.jpg

After the museum, we had time to look around the town and admire it a little bit. I found a few less modern, yet still beautiful architectural pieces.

Firence 2008 023.jpg

Nature is the source of all true knowledge. She has her own logic, her own laws, she has no effect without cause nor invention without necessity.

DSC04472.JPG

Firence 2008 033.jpg

Greens are what I will finish with today. I hope you liked my photographs and you were intrigued by the old, the modern or both. Tuscany is a gorgeous place to visit. Highly recommended!

If I get to go there again, I will also stop by some vineyards which we skipped last time :)

Sort:  

This is very interesting, I've just learnt alot about Lernardo just by seeing where he comes from.
This is literally the best post I've seen all month and more. The photos makes it even more captivating, excellent write up
And......
Good to know you've got a twin...

very good collection of ur memoiable tour of u r school time to see the ancient /historical buildings & the museum,all the collection touches heart,thanks for good work

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-23T20:32:15
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 794.78/800.00
Total Photos: 89
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

your city is very beautiful!

What a cool town. The museum looks very intriguing with all those genius inventions. Leonardo was Centuries ahead of his time. The Modern street art is a nice touch too. I like that they used gray tones which do not interfere with the original architecture. It looks like a fitting tribute to Leonardo's futuristic visions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48