I worked in Oregon as a Chef in an old-world open kitchen, spreading the Bitcoin Love

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

For 2 years, I curated this tiny little restaurant into my own little Bitcoin church, happy to tell the hundreds of tourists and locals how bitcoin entered my life and changed it forever - often to their amazed bewilderment.

Bitcoin was sure to change the world in my opinion, and I was excited to share the news of a tool that would come to empower so many of us in countless ways that we are still dreaming up.

I found it easy to engage in the topic as most people would freely engage me regarding my hobbies beyond the cooking grill. I told them I loved to skateboard, play video games and trade bitcoins (total dork!) - and inevitably I would manage to be in full control of the conversation as all of them would ask "What is bitcoin?"

I would talk about the coming revolution to the blockchain. I remember giving away a bunch of bitcoin in "exchange" for extra tips. I always promised to give anyone some free Satoshis if they downloaded a wallet :)

See, I began my bitcoin jorney in 2011 and vaguely remember a cute little "Magic Internet Money" ad that earned my curious click.

I've been ready for this revolution since my parents lost everything in the 1999 crash and the 2008 crash. Its like our house burnt down. Twice.

But Im not the only one, not by a long shot...

And so that commonality made it very easy to engage with strangers about the answer to our eminent financial upheaval. I would engage with hundreds of new tourists, and it helped to be in a place that just seemed to attract eager, passionate, curious people.

The regulars would walk in and ask "So whats up with Bitcoin today"

"well, allow me to enlighten you"

The food I made was excellent, naturally



I would often pick wild mushrooms in the forest (King Bolete) and bring them to work for cooking


I cured and smoked my own bacon.


Chopped every ingredient to order.

(Grilled Salmon Piccatta with Wild Lobster Mushrooms and my father's garden Kale)

It was an amazing place to grow as a cook, as an artist and as a human being. The people who surrounded me were ever changing, always fascinating, sharing such stories of life and glory. I was always welcomed at their dinner table, and they at mine.

There was an entry to the old underground city (burned in the 1920's and they built on top of it.) Good times be had.



#cooking #life #oregon #blog #crypto #stories #truestories





  • Astoria is a beautiful place to live...

And it's inspiring to be able to share it with the world.

Sort:  

Best fish tacos ive ever had!

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62