I am a crab fisherman. This is how I cook crab.

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)

  • Boil water

  • Salty as the Sea

  • Drop em in

  • 23 minutes later, you'll see

  • Chill and enjoy :)

Oregon Coast, taken with a Samsung Galaxy Note Edge

https://www.instagram.com/jupiter.the.producer.astoria/

Trust a fisherman-chef. I wont let ya down :) Steem on!

#photography #food #cooking #recipes #fishing #hobbies

Sort:  

Is the job anything close to what we can see on "Deadliest catch" ?

I work with some of those guys, I consider them great friends actually - like Adam and Hiram. They taught me a lot.

The Columbia River Bar, which is what you see part of in the photo, is the deadliest crossing in the world. They call it the "Graveyard of the Pacific". One time, we were the last boat in as a hurricane approached. My skipper was just being negligent and had the radio off. The winds broke the weather buoy and sent false readouts to our machines (0 knot wind speed, 0 wave height). All of a sudden I look to the stern and see black clouds galloping across the sky. We made it to the bar crossing (the point where the Columbia River meets the Pacific Ocean) and the waves were about 60 feet (we later found out the last wave recorded on that broken weather buoy was 78 feet). We couldnt see anything. We took such a beating, getting knocked on our side by one wave and lifted upright up with another. and I harldy remember how we surfed our way back into port. Lots of boats were damaged, but nobody died. We got LUCKY. That was 2007.

So yea, it can get crazy. Deadliest catch does a lot of reality TV "staging". They would incite bad attitudes on purpose, provoking fights and drama. When someone fell overboard and they missed it on camera, they would stop fishing, go back, and stage it like a movie.

Thanks for your interest @ooak

I binged watch the series and loved every second of it, I think that the mix of good characters and action is what makes it good, but I also know that it's really one of the most demanding jobs on earth .
does it pay well ?

That's a good pay day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62