Join my museum trip #1 Museum Voorlinden - Wassenaar in the Netherlands

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Museum series
This is the first part of a new series where I will be taking you, dear readers, with me on my journeys throughout many different museums I will encounter on my adventures. For my first museum I want to start with one that is close to home. Only a 45 min drive away from my hometown Amsterdam, a perfect place to visit on a sunny Saturday morning.

Background information

Museum Voorlinden is an art museum in Wassenaar in the Netherlands. It was founded and is privately owned by Joop van Caldenborgh and was opened on 10 September 2016 by King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands.


Museum-Exterieur-01-1.jpg


Before starting the tour there is a library located on the right side of the museum. Unfortunately it appears to be only accessible on appointment.


wassenaar_ (2 of 7).jpg


The tour starts with a short adventure though a room filled with balloons.


wassernaar2.jpg


After being slightly disorientated from the balloon filed room the next room is laid out with many small clocks making a lot of noise combined together.


wassernaar3.jpg


The next room has a lot of cacti starting small and getting larger. A pattern also shown on the wall behind.


wassernaar4.jpg


Lights on the wall combined with balancing light sensor on the camera make for the next two beautiful shots.


wassenaar_ (3 of 7).jpg

wassernaar5.jpg


There even appears to be a pool inside, wait are that people underwater?


wassernaar6.jpg

wassernaar9.jpg


A wall filled with framed paintings where broccoli was used as the brush.


wassenaar_ (4 of 7).jpg


They even took the effort took to somehow get these huge metal parts inside.


wassernaar7.jpg


The next two statues where actually scary lifelike. The amount of detail was amazing.


wassernaar8.jpg

wassenaar_ (5 of 7).jpg


Because it always rains outside and it being dry inside, why not turn it around?


wassernaar10.jpg


A statue in front of a mirror


wassernaar11.jpg


There was a table setup with many different clocks in all kind of shapes. All of these clocks were also running and the ticking sound from them combined echoed throughout the room.


wassernaar12.jpg


I forgot what this next artpiece was supposed to resemble...


wassernaar13.jpg


A knitted painting on the wall.


wassernaar14.jpg


Who does not want a piece of asphalt hanging on the wall?


wassenaar_ (7 of 7).jpg


Pages of a book glued together and cut with scissors laid out on a table.


wassernaar15.jpg


Finishing with some more wall art.


wassernaar16.jpg

wassenaar_ (6 of 7).jpg

wassernaar17.jpg


Afterthoughts

Thank for you joining me on my journey throughout the Voorlinden Museum. I enjoyed the general experience I got from the tour. The art pieces were unique and vastly different in size and character. I only showed part of the total tour, many more art pieces can be experienced in person at the museum in Wassenaar in the Netherlands. Highly recommended if you happen to be nearby.

I enjoyed sharing these pictures with you and hope you did so as well, if that happens to be so please follow and leave a like. This allows me to create more content for you :)

Be sure to check out my other series:
Norway
Switzerland


Sort:  

Beautiful photos of a lovely place. I followed and shared this post with @Steemtrail. Thank you for sharing these. I hope to travel overseas there some day. https://discord.gg/jgVuW5

Thank you for the kind words. I will have a closer look @Steemtrail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52