Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary #1

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

This week we visited the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary that is located around 12 kilometers outside of Brisbane and is the first and largest Koala sanctuary in the world.

I was excited for this visit two weeks in advance because I couldn´t wait to see all those lovely australian animals! And I really have to say that it was worth it! I love that place and I especially love the cute koalas. They have a really good life there I think. They are not even in a cage, they could walk wherever they want, but since they sleep most of the time they prefer to stay at their homes on the limbs. I will tell you more about the koalas later on :)

On the picture you can see me and Chris next to the Koala statue in front of the park´s entrance.

First some interesting facts about Lone Pine that are good to know before getting to know its residents. The koala sanctuary was started in 1927 with two koalas named Jill and Jack. Today there are over 130 koalas that call the sanctuary their home. 

(source logo: www.koala.net)

But not only Koalas live in Lone Pine, there are also kangaroos, parrots and cockatoos, dingos, crocodiles as well as tasmanian devils and platypus and many more. I will introduce them and my experience at the Sanctuary to you in my following blog entries. 

In the next entry I will start with introducing the koalas that live at Lone Pine to you, since they are the main attraction at the Sanctuary :) You will love the pictures!

See you in my next story :)

Sort:  

Koalas are very cool animals but they face huge threat from disease , dog attacks and habitat destruction especially from urban expansion here in South East Queensland

Yeah that's really sad :(

Woah.... looking forward to see more of these cute marsupials. :-)

Im very excited about your next article!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Koalas are great animals. I went to WildLife Goldcoast some weeks ago. There you have been allowed to hug the koalas and take a picture with them in your arms. But I din't expected, that they are so smelly at first, haha :D

:D I think all animals smell a little bit in its own way ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36