You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #89 : My return to Taipei and meeting fellow Taiwanese Steemians!

in #travel7 years ago

Taiwan is a fascinating place to visit, @sweetsssj, with its mixture of three cultures.

Political views aside, it is a melting pot of different traditions and cultures as well as a showcase of different styles of architecture,

The city seems very modern and the late night markets are reminiscent of Seoul Korea.

It's interesting that Taiwan is the only democratic Chinese speaking government in East Asia.

I'm familiar with the cartoon characters featured in the Airbnb rooms, although most familiar with Hello Kitty thanks to my granddaughter who was obsessed with that character at one time.

The fact that the city's nightlife shuts down at 11 pm reminds me of my stay in Washington DC where they seemed to roll up the sidewalks at night LOL!!

I'm glad you were able get together with many Taiwanese Steemians and share that common bond.

I'm looking forward to future posts about the island and its attractions.

Your photos were colourful and captured the lively vibe of Taipei.

Did I mention, those tall steins of draft beer looked delicious!

A delightful post today, sssj.

Sort:  

john!

Good point about Taiwan being the only democratic Chinese speaking government in East Asia. The country hasn't been democratic for very long, so there are still surviving echos of a bureaucratic society if you go outside of the big cities and or speak to people over the age of 50.

I had no idea you had a granddaughter john, no wonder you read as wise as you sound. Nothing can substitute living a long well rounded life, if only by the time I was your age I could have the same broad wisdom, I would be very satisfied with how my life went.

Anyway, looking forward to seeing you in the next post! (It might be about Turkey) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16