THIS IS BRIGHTON: A Day in North Laine

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

June has begun and it's officially summer in England, finally! I spent this weekend in the beautiful seaside city that is Brighton. Specifically...the North Laine. This really is the best part of Brighton in my opinion. So many cafes and artisan pubs to visit, vintage clothes to buy and interesting lanes to wander around. I can spend hours browsing these streets and usually come home with a random Hawaiian shirt that I 'need' for my next Glastonbury trip. Oh, and maybe a new piercing. There's something for everyone in this hippy, vibrant place!

So, how did my day unfold?

First up a bit of street art for good measure - this area is famous for it. Even one of Banksy's cropped up here!

    

Then obviously a coffee....and a slice of vegan carrot cake in Kooks. It was 11am... and what.


Bunting galore in the laines

Few cheeky crystals, anyone? I went for a Tiger's Eye to protect me on my next travel trip. If you're into Oracle Cards, you can find a ton of them here.

 

Some vintage shopping....and so many jazzy shirts.

 

On the weekend, the streets are full of flea markets, antique markets, book and vinyl sellers.

 

Just head down from Brighton station and within a couple of minutes you'll be immersed in the North Laine area and trust me, you'll love it! You could even grab yourself some traditional fish and chips on the beach afterwards for the authentic Brighton experience. Although there are so many delicious restaurants in this area and up next up in my blog is a review of a unique restaurant on Upper Gardner Street....Silo.

Hope this inspires you to visit Brighton!

*Photos shot with a Samsung Galaxy S7.

Jo


Sort:  

Hi @joham,
Thank you for participating in the #travelfeed curated tag. To maintain a level of quality on the project we have certain criteria that must be met for participation. Please review the following: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts
We require at least 250 words, but your post has only 224 words.
Thank you very much for your interest and we hope to read some great travel articles from you soon!
Regards, @travelfeed

I LOVE BRIGHTON!
The vegan carrot cake of Kooks is GOOD!

Isn't it great! I'm just about to post about the restaurant Silo....have you been there?

Yes ! But in general Brighton is a Vegan friendly place, I love that!

Congratulations @joham! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You had me at vegan carrot cake. This looks great! I'm desperate to go back to Brighton! Love that beautiful city! Let's go sooooon?

Yes please can we...I just love this city, really want to move here in the near future I think. And we can go to Silo for lunch...the food was delicious x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99