Omugga Kiyara and the Egyptian Mystery (Part 4)

in #travel7 years ago

READ PART 3 HERE

Surprisingly, I did not become wet. I could also breathe normally even though I was staring at the black depths of the lake. I could feel Wachuka's body next to mine and so I extended my hand and caught her wrist. It felt icy cold. I tried to turn my head to look at her but I couldn't. The phlegm held too tight. I hoped she was okay. Any attempts at moving my lips to talk to her were futile. As we lay there, captive and scared. I regretted every decision I had made since arriving in Uganda. I did not know that the kind of fear I was experiencing existed.

egyptian-hieroglyphs.jpg
Credits

My thoughts were interrupted by a shrill sound and a blinding blue light in the distant depths of the lake. Suddenly, I could see the sloping sides of the lake in great detail. I saw small fishes and several water snakes gliding across the view. To our right, a mongoose-like creature stalked a school of fish. The sound and light did not seem to interrupt the marine life. The craft began to descend towards the source of the light, blinding as the sun. Even though we were descending, it was like we were ascending into the sky. Into a new world above. As the light came closer and closer to our faces, I had to close my eyes lest I turn blind. The last thing I remember seeing before closing my eyes was the blurry image of Nasiche looking sternly at me. It was like a dream yet I could swear she was right there.

For what seemed like an eternity, we moved down the lake. I expected us to hit the bottom but we never did. Instead, the light faded behind my eyelids and I opened them to slits. All I could see was a blue cloudless sky. Shortly, the phlegm that had held us to the boat began to loosen. I realized that I had not taken any breath under the water.

Sort:  

Hmm, Then what happened?

This should be compiled into a book.

Congratulations @joel-wandimi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41