My Trip to Singapore

in #travel6 years ago

Recently I had the opportunity to go to Singapore and thought I’d share my experience with y’all.  First I have to say Singapore is a very beautiful and clean city.  Since my only language is English and everything was in english it was easy to navigate and communicate with people.  It also seemed very safe.  I never felt unsafe or threatened, which was very cool.  While I was there I stayed at the Swissotel.  It was a very nice hotel.  Here is a pic of the front of my hotel

Front of Swissotel in Singapore

Here is a panoramic view from my room
Panoramic view from my hotel room at the Swissotel in Singapore Here is a video of the view from my room.


On my first day there I took a walk around the city and captured some photos.  One of the first things I saw was this building with what looked like a ship on it.

Marina Bay Sands resort
Marina Bay Sands resort
I found out later that it is the Marina Bay Sands resort.  Unfortunately do to time constraints I didn't get to go check out this resort.

The next thing that is very noticeable is a huge Ferris wheel which is known as the Singapore Flyer.

Singapore Flyer
Singapore Flyer

While I was there it was broken down.  So I didn't get to ride it :-(.

Here is a couple of pics of the view of the city skyline.

Singapore city skyline
Singapore city skyline

While walking around I saw this Mercedes-Benz taxi. Since this is something you don't see every day I had to take a picture of it.
Mercedes-Benz taxi

In the river there all these ferry boats. Singapore Ferry boat

Also across the river from where I was walking I could see the Gardens by the Bay. Singapore Gardens by the bay

The last night I was there one of the local guys from the office there took me and another guy out to a local restaurant.  I got to try some chili crab which is a very popular cuisine there.

Singapore chilli crab
Here is a view of the fresh seafood in the back of the restaurant
Singapore restaurant fresh seafood tanks

One thing I was told I had to try was Durian. Below is the pic of the outdoor market where we got some and tried it.
Durian market

It didn't have much of a taste and the consistency was very mushy kind of like blah pudding.  It was very interesting.

Finally here is a couple of videos of the view of Singapore from the 70th floor of the Swissotel  The first one is at the end of the day but it is still day out.  The second one is the view at night


br

Singapore is a great city and I hope you enjoyed my whirlwind picture tour of it.   

Sort:  

The Garden by the Bay were in BBC's Planet Earth II; small world.
My last Uber ride was an MB! Now maybe a Lamborghini or Ferrari???

Cool! Yeah interesting times we live in. Thanks upvote and comment.

Did you know you can win SBD by participating in "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge?!

You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos

Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

Thanks for letting me know about this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66205.77
ETH 3304.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72