Québec - Exploring French Canada 🇫🇷

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Ever since I can remember, I’ve wanted to learn how to speak French.

I remember getting a psychic reading once and she told me that I was a French woman in one of my past lives. I guess it made me curious as to whether I’d be really good at speaking French.

Well, I’m not so there’s that. But at least I got to give it a good shot when visiting beautiful Québec.

As soon as you cross the border into the province of Québec, all of the road signs change to French and nobody uses their indicators! Haha, it was mayhem, for us anyway.

Our first stop was the city of Montréal. What a great city! We absolutely loved it there. We stayed at an Airbnb in Mile End. It was a short walk to Mont Royal which is a large hill in the middle of the city. It’s a public park and it’s absolutely stunning.

We were also quite close to some beautiful coloured houses. Montréal is full of them and I could spend days admiring them all. I enjoyed cycling around the city on Bixi bikes, checking out the brightly painted, character filled homes. One day we biked over 40kms!

P8290552-colourful-houses-montreal.jpg

The bagels from Fairmount Bagel are crazy delicious. The everything bagel with some cream cheese and smoked salmon - yum! They have a huge selection of flavours and I’ve almost tried all of them.

And be sure to try some poutine if you're ever in town. It's Canada's national dish after all and it originated just north of Montréal.

We also visited the Montréal Botanical Gardens. The grounds were very nice and there were these beautiful Monarch butterflies everywhere that day.

P8300765-butterflies-montreal-botanic-gardens.jpg

Annnd...I’ve saved my favourite until last. Pâtisserie Au Kouign Amann is out of this world. I'm sure this place is the reason I gained 10kgs last year. Their ham and cheese croissants with bechamel sauce - AMAZING! I went back many times for these babies. And sometimes the line was out the door. And it’s a sad sad day when they sell out 🥐

elegant-1769669_1280.png

Our next stop was Québec City. We were about a 20 minute (uphill) walk into Old Québec. Old Québec is straight out of a fairytale. I’d love to see it all covered in snow one day. Alas, there was no snow in the middle of Summer, but we did get a bucket load of rain. We were still able to explore the city and it meant that it wasn’t too busy. I loved all of the cobblestone streets and stone buildings. They were just delightful. It feels like you’ve been magically transported into Europe. It's a very romantic city.

P9020891-quebec-city-street-yellow.jpg

P9041240-Cathedral-Notre-Dame-Québec.jpg

P9041121-quebec-city-street-red.jpg


Then we were off to the Gaspésie Peninsula. The drive along the coastline was stunning. We came across beautiful little towns, nestled between the mountains and the ocean. Our first stop was at Forillon National Park where we camped for a couple of nights. The rugged coastline up there is beautiful and there are porcupines EVERYWHERE! I’d never seen one before in my life so it was really cool to see them wandering around. We even caught a glimpse of the Northern Lights one night.

P9121680-forillon-national-park.jpg

P9121728-porcupine-forillon-national-park.jpg


Next we spent some time in a place called Carleton-sur-Mer. We camped out on a long spit of land for a few nights. Here we ate the most amazing scallops I think I’ve ever had. Ben got the campfire going and fried them up in butter and garlic 👌🏻

P9151950-carleton-sur-mer-lighthouse-quebec.jpg

We drove to the top of Mont Saint-Joseph which is a tall mountain overlooking the town of Carleton-sur-Mer. The road up is so steep that our car started to smoke once we reached the top. At the very top is a beautiful old church. And the view is great. You can even see into the next province, New Brunswick.

elegant-1769669_1280.png

Québec is a beautiful part of the world and it was great to be able to experience another language, while still being in the same country. And although I only got a few words down, everyone was super friendly and frankly quite surprised to hear my accent. I had a person tell me that they had never met an Australian woman before. I thought that was pretty cool!

JessicaOutside-logo-black.png

Thanks for reading, If you like my content, please resteem, upvote and comment.

All content is my own unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you Quebec is beautiful! To you a view of old Québec in winter : image

Absolutely stunning! Thanks so much for sending this through. I love it 💙

Always love the photographs you take of your travels.
The colours, the angles, the balance. You know how to pick them!

Interesting psychic reading you have.
What is your animal/spiritual guardian?

Ah thanks so much. That's so lovely for you to say. My secret is I take A LOT of photos and then discard 99% of them 😁

Hmmm...interesting question. I don't know if she ever told me so I'm not sure. How about you?

Cool you were in Mile End in Montreal? That's where I work. Great photos and write up like always 🙂

I was! Really loved that part of Montreal. I'm jealous. You've got so much good food around you 😍 Thank you very much.

Bravo pour ces belles photos Jessica!

You won't have to wait too long to see snow in Québec City, it's May, so in about two or three months it should be there... Nah, joking, I'm still grumpy about the long winter.... It generally starts snowing in December.
You nailed it: Québec has much more of an European city feel, whereas Montreal is a mix of both, and much more cosmopolitan. Both cities are certainly great to live in and/or visit.

Next time you're in Quebec City, send a message and we'll take a coffee ;-)

Merci beaucoup Jala!

Haha I think I remember you saying that about the Winter. Sometimes they really drag on hey. I've just got fomo from all the pics I've seen. Looks magical.

And absolutely. I can't say when that will be but I would like to visit again one day ☕ maybe in the Winter 😉

How lucky you are can get vote from @blocktrades, I've rarely seen @blocktrades give a vote to the post. :)

Fantastic again...upvoted and resteemed again :)

As always, thanks so much for your kind words and support. It means the world ❤

Absolute pleasure. Lovely to see your work and follow your story :)

Your photo work is just stunning, I love it.

The last picture, is that a small light house?

Thank you very much!

It is indeed a small lighthouse. It was unlocked too so I was able to have a look around inside.
Quite a tight space for the keeper and his family to reside.

Wow, for real? they live as family in there? It's so tiny

I believe so. I'm having trouble finding much info on it now but I remember seeing some photographs hanging up inside of a family of either 3 or 4. Nice and cosy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66