Culebra, Puerto Rico and the Infinite Joy of Letting Go

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender 83.jpg

Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico, you have drawn yourself into my soul now. I took a long weekend, the last weekend of July, thanks to my amazing cousin who works for an airline and has me listed as her travel companion, making my airfare seriously affordable.

I needed the long weekend. Since joining Steemit in June, my life has turned around. Instead of having to turn to camming, getting naked on screen and touching myself for money, I have not only made a chunk of change Steeming, I’ve landed some lucrative writing and editing gigs. Half of June and nearly all of July I spent hunched over my laptop, editing books on data science and self-help in the workplace, writing articles about sexy celebrity daughters, tutoring college kids through their summer writing courses.

And since I hadn’t seen my best friend @kindstranger and her girlfriend @amyinautumn (another amazing human) in a year-ish, it was time for an epic reunion. Three besties with travel benefits through the same airline, we had not much choice but to find a secluded island in paradise with limited to no cell phone reception to reunite. So we went to Puerto Rico.

I arrived a day before the girls, because I had an extra day off and wanted to check out San Juan before we headed to the smaller island of Culebra. So I found an early morning flight and checked into a hostel by the afternoon, only to meet a posse of weed-smoking wanderlusts (including the manager) who took me to see the street art by night and hang out in the hippest local spots, including an epic drag show which I was too shy to take pics of (I am super unsure of drag show etiquette). The next day, I rolled out of bed early, sweating peacefully—I love the way it feels to sweat. I took a bus to old San Juan and wandered the streets, still sweating, eating empanadas filled with meat, taking pictures of all the colors and cobbles.

FullSizeRender 85.jpg

Omar (the love of my existence) is a little bit obsessed with Puerto Rico because of former Calle 13 member, now a solo musical artist Residente, who sings about a specific neighborhood of San Juan called La Perla. Wow, La Perla. From old San Juan, it’s just down some stairs, right smack beside the sea. The houses are the brightest colored houses, there is amazing street art everywhere, and this particular Saturday morning, the residents of these beautiful shacks were washing their cars playing salsa music loudly. I could hear the ocean from almost every point of the neighborhood. At the end of my walk, up and down stairs, through a mini public outdoor library of free books, next to the shore I found a cemetery. Cemeteries are like churches because they are filled with all the energy that is brought there by living humans (and maybe the ones that have been laid to rest there too?)

FullSizeRender 87.jpg

FullSizeRender 78.jpg

IMG_7358.JPG

IMG_7359.JPG

FullSizeRender 95.jpg

FullSizeRender 81.jpg

FullSizeRender 88.jpg

I got poured on for about 10 minutes as I walked up some stairs back into old San Juan, before cruising around the neighborhood of my hostel again to check out the street art in daylight, eat more empanadas, and head to the airport to meet Jess and Amy and take a taxi then a boat to Culebra.

FullSizeRender 76.jpg

Our initiation to the island was that we couldn’t find any taxis to bring us to the campground where we planned on spending the next three nights. A lovely nurse from San Juan whose name I can’t remember now drove us in his golf cart to the site and told us about the gem we had stumbled upon in Culebra.

In the dark, we set up our tent, laid a blanket in the sand 30 steps away next to the water, and watched shooting stars float across the milky way. In the morning, the heat woke us early, despite being under a cover of jungle next to the beach. Seeing that world of white sand and turquoise sea open up through the trees, nearly empty at such an early hour, another wow. I took a dip immediately. Amy joined me and a light sprinkling of rain came too, pittering on our skin and the glass surface of bright greeny blue where we bathed. MAGIC. This is magic.

FullSizeRender 80.jpg

FullSizeRender 77.jpg

FullSizeRender 89.jpg

FullSizeRender 75.jpg

It is possible to fall in love with a place, and I fell in love with Flamenco Beach in Culebra, Puerto Rico. The days that followed were filled with everythingness and nothingness. We sunbathed, we planted ourselves in the shade, we swam, we snorkeled, we drank beer and rum and ate empanadas, we drew a bit of a crowd writing poetry on our skin and singing songs, the Bathing Belles with a guitar and ukulele. We skinny dipped at sunset on a hidden beach down the road, we laid under the night sky always.

FullSizeRender 86.jpg

The resulting Skin on Sundays episode --- my poetry on skin project, if you're interested <3

FullSizeRender 91.jpg

IMG_7398.JPG

FullSizeRender 74.jpg

FullSizeRender 82.jpg

FullSizeRender 84.jpg

IMG_7591.JPG

We let all the pressure that had been building inside of us go, and it felt so easy. Sometimes all it takes is burying yourself in natural beauty with people you love to re-unearth the creativity and inspiration that lives inside of you, to appreciate what is and what you have, to go home feeling rejuvenated and fresh; I can conjure up that first dip into the still Culebra waters at any moment—that fresh.

IMG_7511.JPG

Sort:  

Wonderful post Jess happy to see you here on Steemit again!

I lived there when I was younger and couldn't really appreciate everything Puerto Rico, had and still has to offer. Went back in 99' and fell in love even more. Next trip back gotta to try the lobster empanadas, some coquito, and looking at the pics, (which by the way are beautiful) I'm sure you could agree, coconut water just isn't the same once you've done it up PR style. Great post and I'm now a fan.

Thank you!! Puerto Rico is magical <3

Awesome place..And beautiful pictures.
Following you for more.👌💐

'...and watched shooting stars float across the milky way.' <3 <3 <3 I love how you worded that <3 <3 <3

Moving there in January ❤️❤️❤️

Great shots! I don't recall ever being in that part of the island, though I did visit Culebras (snakes for those wondering) many years ago when I was very young. The vivid colors of the homes in that area was done to change the atmosphere around those parts and change its image.

Hello Jesse! This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Wow, thank you! I would be honored! <3

Lovely photos - looks like you had a great time :). For how long did you go there? Take a look at my post from India trip - maybe it will encourage you to visit also that country (if you haven't been there yet ;) https://steemit.com/travel/@wbucko/love-it-or-hate-it-india-trip-part-2-jaipur

I would loveeee to go to India and do indeed plan on it someday. I was only in Puerto Rico for 5 days, but when I go to India, it could very well be months.

Oh quite short trip you had :) I totally recommend that - maybe not for months (though probably you wouldn't be bored anyways :) ) but few weeks should be enough, especially for the first time! :)

if you Follow & Upvote me, i will Follow & Upvote you...!

Sorry, that's not my game. But if I like your posts, I will follow you and upvote. That's how it should be, right? Otherwise what kind of platform would this be? People should be rewarded for quality content, not bribery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95