The importance of Studying Abroad

in #travel7 years ago

I had the typical 4 year experience at college... Friends, Work, and many endless nights.

It was my junior year at school and I was starting to get bored. My life was consumed by hours of homework and studying, mixed in with 30+ hours of work a week. I needed something more, something exciting to mix things up a bit.

Up until then I had never traveled outside of the U.S.A before. Many states have been checked off my "visited" list, but never a new country. Studying abroad had always been a subject that I had heard older friends and family talk about and it was something I insisted on experiencing for myself.

SO through a little research I found that the college of Agriculture offered a Spring Break Food Science tour . This was Perfect !! I could go on a week long trip to Spain, eat all the yummy food, AND get credit without spending an entire semester in a foreign country.

We landed in Barcelona, Spain , which by far is one of my most favorite destinations now. Spent three days traveling all over the city where we ate tapas for the first time. For those who don't know what that is, Tapas means small plates/dishes. Mainly made with seafood (in Barcelona at least) and fit for sharing or one person at a time.
tapas.jpg

We explored the Port of Barcelona taking in the sites and smells.
port.jpg

boats.jpg

From there we made our way to Las Rambles which is a fabulous thoroughfare that houses a bunch of restaurants and shops. What was amazing to me was that NO ONE was ever in a rush. Locals always seemed at ease passing by, which is insanely different than Americans. I remember at one point my group of 15 people were the only one's running. A hectic lifestyle was so far fetched when it came to the locals. New home someday? I think so!

At the end of the pathway we collided with what I think could be another wonder of the world. Not really, but I totally geeked out ! We made it to one of the cities largest and most famous food markets, the Boqueria Market.
418963_4854872243789_2024303185_n.jpg

For any of you fellow foodies out there this place is AMAZING. It is filled with spices, fresh seafood, fresh produce, fresh meats, and so much more. Definitely a must see if you ever get the chance. Below are just a few examples of what I am talking about. You have to see it to believe it.

fruit table.jpg

spice table.jpg

fish.jpg

fish2.jpg

meats.jpg

It is absolutely incredible to see a warehouse full of color, smells, and smiling faces. The people who were behind these booths were so incredibly friendly and were willing to assist us in anyway.

This day had been one of the most memorable for me when it comes to my travel experiences. I wanted to take home EVERYTHING so I could experiment with tasting and cooking.

There were so many other firsts and amazing experiences that happened following these pictures, but that's for another day. I wanted to share this because I think traveling abroad when you're young, in any way possible (mine just happened to be for school) should be mandatory. Witnessing a different culture and way of life opened my eyes to a much bigger world than I was used to back in Kansas. Traveling abroad allows for education in different languages, food, music, celebrations, cooking, and just way of life. Not to mention, being able to somewhat navigate airports and hotels without "mommy and daddy" around makes you grow up a bit too real quick.

No one needs to travel to be a well rounded human being, but it definitely makes it easier and is totally worth it. It's also a humbling experience to see how others around the world live and eat. I came back to the states energized and hopeful. I wanted to go back the minute I stepped on the plane headed home. The world is a big place and there is so much that we don't know if we just stay in our own little bubble. I encourage anyone and everyone to step out of their comfort zone and experience something new, and in this case, TRAVEL!

chocolate.jpg

Hope you enjoyed reading about my first time traveling outside the states, what are you're favorite destinations you've visited before?

Remember, follow me and I'll follow back =)

-jennleigh

Sort:  

Congratulations @jennleigh! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jennleigh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29