WE UNBELIEVABLY USED LESS THAN 50$ (FOR 2 PEOPLE) CAMPING IN KENYA/ EXTREME BUDGET TRAVEL!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

a9.jpg

I decided to do some form of Budget travel in my country Kenya. It had to involve camping. I called up @njoromuts because he is the best company and takes the best photos and told him that I was on a mission to spend less than 5,000ksh ($50) between two people for an epic night of camping. "Is it really possible?" he said?

a1.jpg

I love budget travel and I love challenging myself. Even my friends thought I was crazy to do this. However, I had read about Olooseos and I wanted to visit the place. The average twenty-something in Nairobi splurges on things like meals and drinks. The reason I chose 5,000ksh was that it was what I would normally spend on a night out when I was having dinner and cocktails on a Friday. I do not do this every Friday, but occasionally, I love to try out different restaurants. This time, I wanted to show people that you can have twice the fun with half the budget ie (2,500ksh ($25) per person).

a2.jpg

How did we do it?

We divided our costs into three.

  • Transport
  • Food
  • Camping/accommodation

Transport

Olooseos is in Kiserian which is a town that is an hour an a half drive from the Nairobi CBD. Instead of using personal transport or Uber we decided to use a matatu from town. Mataus are the public transport in Kenya. We used 100ksh ($1) each and were dropped at Kiserian Town. We used a number 126 at railways stage. At Kiserian Town we picked another form of public transport called Probox taxis where we were involuntarily packed with some goats. yes, a goat sat next to us and this was such a crazy experience we were laughing all the way. So what happened was there was a Maasai man transporting his goat to the slaughter and this was the only form of transport he would use.

We were so squeezed and we were holding on to our belongings so tired and dusty. We paid 50ksh each and we alighted at a place called Corner Baridi. In Swahili, this means the "Cold Corner". The place is on a hill and you have to walk downhill on this dusty murram road. We took a long walk and many trucks passed us leaving a cloud of dust to engulf us. How sweet! At this point, I was almost rethinking this decision but we pressed on. We got to Oloseos and we were so happy.

a3.jpg

a4.jpg

Food

To save up on food costs, we each carried food from home and bought snacks and water in town. They also have food at the restaurant there. A kg of meat was ($8) 800Ksh and ugali (a common maize meal) was 50 Ksh and potato fries were 150Ksh. Their breakfast was 300ksh. In total, for both of us we collectively used 1,00ksh for early dinner that day. The next day we spent 1000Ksh on the 2nd day too. In total, we spent 2,300 Ksh on food including the snacks and water we bought. They allow you to carry your own food. I got some whiskey and snacks from my kitchen so we saved up on food costs.

Total costs
We spent a total of 4950ksh (49$) between two people and we had the best time.

a5.jpg

Camping/accommodation & Miscellaneous Costs

The tents cost 750Ksh each for one night. It also comes with bedding but if you want to carry your own you can.
You also need to carry your own toiletries and slippers. We used 400 for miscellaneous costs.

a8.jpg

Things to do

  • They have a hammock for you to relax.
  • They have many hiking trails and view to watch the sunset.
  • There are swings and places you can just chill.
  • They also have a place where you can light a campfire.

a6.jpg

a7.jpg

Tips

  • Carry sneakers
  • Be very brave. You are camping in the wild. Obviously, there aren't any wild animals but if you easily get scared, go with some company.
  • Carry a torch.
  • Carry a camera to shoot.
  • Go with some friends.
  • Have fun and let your phones rest.

a11.jpg

Sort:  

Their roast meat is absolutely unforgettable

So juicy. We should go back.

Sounds like a great adventure! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for dropping by.

This sounds like a great experience! This is cool ,thanks for sharing

It was amazing. Thanks for dropping by.

Unlike popular opinion, travel does not have to be expensive. Thanks for the breakdown.

I am glad you liked this.

I loved this breakdown. Laughed at being packed with a goat, reminded me of an experience I had with sheep. This is something I should definitely try

Haha. Looking forward to that story.

Wow...this is so cool

It was amazing.

I propose the next next meet-up to be here @jeanwandimi, @njoromuts, @deniskj, @mutimum, @sirkim, @sylviam , @zippykimani i propose who seconds? This place looks just awesome.

This place is amazing but maze iko Kiserian. Huko ni mbali but I am sure we can all plan a place to meet soon. I am totally for this idea. The Ultimate Steemit Camp

Thanks for this post, its a great referral to this camp site will definitely set a date @cmbugua i second

Welcome @sirkim I also second this!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeanwandimi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=we-unbelievably-used-less-than-50usd-for-2-people-camping-in-kenya-extreme-budget-travel


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Heya, you are a honorable mention in the Daily Travel Digest!

But I do think your post is still pretty undervalued, so if you want I can nominate you for @OCD (I'm a curator there), get back to me here whenever you can!

Hey. @martibis Thanks for the above info. Nice to hear about OCD. I'd love it if you nominate me. Keep me posted.

Alright, I'll nominate you for tomorrows edition!

Thanks so much. Great thing you are doing with Steemit World Map.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44