THE BREATHTAKING & MAGICAL BEACHES OF ZANZIBAR. I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit Friends,
There are times when your heart is just calling for the beach. That happened and my friend Tess & I booked a flight to Zanzibar. I had never been to Zanzibar but it has always been on my bucket list.

IMG_2571.JPG

IMG_1911.JPG
having the time of my life

IMG_0694.JPG These sunset walks were so therapeautic

Zanzibar Island is a magical place. Flying above this Island, the turquoise waters and beautiful beaches made me know that I was going to have an amazing time. I do not take vacations often because I am always working but when I do, I live it out to the maximum.

IMG_1155.JPG Looking down

Zanzibar became famous because it was the slave market and sad memories fill you when you go to Stone Town slave market and hear the stories and history. Despite the problems that riddled this Island, it rose to be a spice destination and every time I cook with the spices I carried, nostalgia hits me.

However, today, I'm bringing you stories about the different beaches we visited and showing you the photos to feed your wanderlust. Enjoy!

IMG_1174.JPG

NUNGWI BEACH

Perhaps the most common beach due to the fact that it is the northernmost part of Zanzibar. It has azure waters and white sands and it is a great place to swim and even sunbathe. However, when it went it was so crowded and we opted to go in the evening for sunset watching. We also went to the iconic The Rock restaurant which is a small drive from Nungwi.

IMG_1448.JPG The Rock Restaurant

IMG_1564.JPG Capturing moments

IMG_1520.JPG

PAJE BEACH

Paje beach is another relaxed beach with fewer people. We actually changed our minds on the breakfast table when we met a fellow traveler and he told us that he went to Paje and it was amazing. We were sold and went there that day. There were so many kitesurfers.

IMG_0641.JPG This is actually my desktop wallpaper

IMG_0638.JPG

IMG_0656.JPG Don't ask why I wasn't in swimwear.

BWEJUU & DONGWE

As you drive from Paje town, you'll find another popular beach. There are so many hotels and lodges along that stretch hence why people prefer to go there. However, low tides are common. If you are lucky, you get to snorkel and swim. The road was bumpy when we were driving there. It was so rocky and dusty at some point. However, the rest of the views are worth the drive especially if you are driving from Stone Town.

IMG_1577.JPG

IMG_1431.JPG

KIZIMKAZI

This beach is in the southern region. This place is paradise especially if you love secluded beaches. We did not stay here for a long time but we had fun all the same. This beach is also easily accessible.

IMG_0681.JPG

IMG_0712.JPG Tess & I dancing in the water

KENDWA

We did not go to Kendwa since it was on the Western side of Zanzibar. However, many people claim that it is a great place to visit. The beach is very wide. Other beaches to visit are Matemwe and Kiwengwa.

IMG_0726.JPG

CHANGUU ISLAND/ PRISON ISLAND BEACH

Although these beaches are on a different Island, I had to include them here. When we went for the prison Island tour, our guide had carried some fruits for us and it was only sensible that we ate them on the beach. The beach had few people but the tides were very violent and waters were deep. I remember getting soaked from head to toe after a violent tide engulfed me.

IMG_2112.JPG

SANDBANKS

There are so many sandbanks all over the place and you can go and have a moment before the water circles back.

IMG_1855.JPG

IMG_1846.JPG

Zanzibar is truly magical. It sticks with you long after you are gone. I am planning another Indian Ocean Island visit soon. I wonder which island or beach area to visit next.

IMG_2635.JPG

All photos were taken by Tess or I. Cameras used Canon g7x, Canon Rebel T51, Nikon D5200

Steemit_In_Kenya.png

Support @boosterke

boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe

Steemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Nice pictures! I really like the one at Changuu island. I actually never researched about this place and never seen anything about it. it is very pretty
I upvoted you

If you are into travel, you might be interested in the newest discord channel. You are welcome to join :)

promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite

Wow @ella-kay Thanks for leaving such a thoughtful comment. i look forward to connecting. Joined the group.

Great images! Zanzibar has quite the beaches, I agree.

I feel sad just thinking about those beaches and how I am not there right now.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeanwandimi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-breathtaking-and-magical-beaches-of-zanzibar-i-did-not-want-to-leave


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I am definitely going to visit Zanzibar... I love this. Keep promoting steemit in Kenya

Thanks @dante31 for stopping by. Onwards and upwards. :)

OMG, Zanzibar is totally on my bucket list too. It has been for a while. It looks so nice there. I would love it if you added this post to steemit worldmap so we can curate this in #traveldigest. I think you've done this before with one of your earlier posts?

http://steemitworldmap.com

If not, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap.

Let me know if you get stuck.

Zanzibar is such a dream. I can't wait for you to visit.

I have done that. How does one know when you are successful?
Update: It works now

Yep you're all good. I see the auto response.

The scenery and environs is quite endearing.
Sure, no one would wanna leave such a place.

Such a great place. Magical if I should say.

Who wants to leave a place like that...
You must have had great fun.!!!

I had such fun @xabi. Followed you.#steemitbloggers

This is not what I need to see when it start to snowing here at me :))) Kidding, excellent photos and very beautiful place, I wish I am there now ;)

I know this is strange but I love snow. I think its because we are at the equator. Like we want what we can't have. haha.

Incredible breathtaking images. I really need to make time for traveling. God knows I need it.

Yes given the sleepless nights and the hard work, when you take a vacation, you will know that you deserve it. :)

Seems like a beautiful place to visit. I'm sure you enjoyed yourself.

I had such a nice time I wanna go back in 2018.

Wow.. I hope to be there one day too..

You will soon. Dreams do come true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39