Sibley State Park

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sibley State Park can be accessed from Highway 71 north of Willmar, Minnesota. It is also just a few miles west of New London, where I saw the water ski practice.

There are several bodies of water in the park, the largest of which is Lake Andrew. Fishing, canoeing, and swimming are all options here.

20170621_121705.jpg

Next to the beach, you can find a stairway up the hill to a picnic pavilion. You can also drive around and up, but the view is less interesting.

20170621_121829.jpg

At the top of the hill you find the pavilion (built as part of the Conservation Corps projects during the Great Depression) and can have a snack sheltered from the weather inside its stoutly-built structure.

20170621_122110.jpg

20170621_122315.jpg

Entry to the park costs a few dollars for a day pass, and immediately next to the office there is a road that leads on to either the Mount Tom lookout tower or the interpretive center.

Mount Tom is not much by my Rocky Mountain standards, but it is a good-sized hill offering a commanding view of the surrounding area. The tower at the top adds enough extra elevation to see over much of the oak forest and catch glimpses of distant lakes and towns. I will try again to upload a panoramic shot of the surroundings. Click on the image for an expanded view.

20170621_113028.jpg

The interpretive center is set up to offer information about the wetlands and oak savannah that define the region. There are also interactive exhibits that should entertain children.

20170621_115328.jpg

There are also several miles of hiking and bicycling trails that allow glimpses of the remote corners of this park. You could stop in for a few hours and quickly explore a bit, or camp overnight and see more. A visit is highly recommended either way.


Don't forget to check out my contest while there is still time to enter!

Sort:  

I really enjoy stopping at different state parks so was good to see this one. I liked the format and pictures also, ,told the story, had pretty pictures to capture feel and didn't take a long time to read through. Nice work and looking forward to more.

More will come. I think I have one more Willmar-area post yet, and then I will be hopefully moving on toward Duluth-area posts.

Ohhh Duluth! get some great agates when you get up there :)

I doubt I will spend much time on Lake Superior. I do plan to see the railroad museum, and I will be visiting family. I may have a local beer review or two though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81