Travel with Lira: Tulum, Mexico

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I recently just travelled to Mexico and this has been my third time travelling to Mexico. I have been to Cabo, Cancun and now Rivieria Maya. Mexico is literally home and way from home for me.

I love the food, there is so much culture and the amazing scenic views are totally worth it. Not to mention its only 5 hours away from Toronto ! Who doesn't love short flights?!

While I was there, we stayed in Rivieria Maya but in a gated community called Playacar beside Playa del Carmen.

Our resort we stayed in is the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. I feel like I have been to so many Riu's but this by far has to be one of the best ones ! I highly recommend this resort! The palace is higher end compared to the other Riu's and I think its worth it paying a little extra for a vacation when you know everything is going to be perfect.

One of the perks of staying at a Palace is having access to go to any other Riu's and you also get better drinks.


We did a few things while we were there.. We did a day trip to TULUM, COBA and visited a UNDERGROUND CENOTE.
We also went into PLAYA DEL CARMEN almost every other night (it was 10-15min walk into town).
We went to COCO BONGO and also a club across MANDALA and LA VAQUITA (these are club names). We also jet skied and went around every Riu's.
The gated community PLAYACAR is very SAFE!

Here are some pics from my trip!


TULUM

Tulum is a rare Mayan city in Mexico as it is only one of the few cities that are still walled. It is also the third most popular visited cities in Mexico, Quintana Roo.

IMG_4764.jpg
IMG_4604.jpg
IMG_4605.jpg
IMG_4224.jpg


COBA

Coba is the tallest Mayan pyramid (138ft/ 42 meters) in Yucatan. Its location is also very beautiful as it is surrounded by dense tropical forests. It is also one of the very few pyramids that you can actually climb up!
Interestingly, Coba was ruled by women!! There are so many pyramids in Mexico built by the Mayans because they believed the top of the pyramids would lead to the upper world.

IMG_4511.jpg
IMG_4514.jpg
IMG_4691.jpg
IMG_4689.jpg


CENOTE

Cenotes are so awesome! they are underground sinkholes and there are over 6000 in Yutucan, Mexico. I can't imagine how many in total Mexico have! Cenotes are very sacred to the Mayans as they believe cenotes are the gateways to the underworld.

IMG_4546.jpg
IMG_4551.jpg
IMG_4692.jpg


FOOD

I absolutely LOVE Mexican food! and I love the spices they use to add more flavour to their dishes! Here are some of my favourite dishes I ate while in Mexico! and I love the DON SIRLION TACOS in PLAYA del Carmen!!! Anyone that goes to Playa please go eat here, it is so delicious!!! Did you know? tomatoes and ceaser salad originated from Mexico?!

IMG_4566.jpg
IMG_4573.jpg
IMG_4732.jpg
IMG_4497.jpg
IMG_4715.jpg
IMG_4707.jpg


PLAYA DEL CARMEN

I loved this town, there is so much to do here! just such an amazing relaxing vibe from everyone and the beach downtown is really nice too. You literally can find anything here! from shopping to eating tacos!

IMG_4594.jpg
IMG_4121.jpg
IMG_4578.jpg
IMG_4771.jpg
IMG_4650.jpg


HOTEL GROUNDS: RIU PALACE MIVEIRIA MAYA

This hotel was amazing, best food, best service, best beach (next to st. maarten/anguilla), best employees (some who I still connect with over instagram). Everything was amazing here! Cant wait to return!

IMG_4844.jpg
IMG_4582.jpg
IMG_4579.jpg
IMG_4590.jpg
IMG_4703.jpg
IMG_4749.jpg
IMG_3773.jpg
IMG_4815.jpg


HOPE YOU ALL ENJOYED THIS POST!


Like & Comment
xoxo
Lira

Sort:  

Ah Tulum. One of my favourite spots in Mexico. I loved it there. I ended up staying about 2 weeks cos it was so nice.

As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83