Travel with Lira 🌎🌍🌏 CANCUN, MEXICOsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

TORONTO to CANCUN, MEXICO!

There is always something special about visiting a place for the first time. Cancun is known to be a party city and yes I did party but I also gained a lot of historical insights that fascinated and surprised me about CANCUN, MEXICO.

IMG_0936.jpg

Im going to try to keep this short detailed and sweet because I feel like my other blogs might be too long. Just trying to stick to the trip, tricks and tips for travelling to Cancun.

Me and my sister stayed at the Barcelo Tucancun and went around mid July 2015 for 5 days. The lady at the front desk was super nice and gave us a really nice room with the lagoon view and the ocean view. This isn't the Riu but the service was still nice. The hotel was actually pretty big and everything was centred in the middle and it also had 2 nice pools. The views from the resort was actually breathtaking. Cancun has that Simpsons perfect clouds and sky.

IMG_0441 (1).jpg

IMG_0952.jpg

IMG_0442 (1).jpg

IMG_0614.jpg

The food was also good especially the A La Carts but the buffet kind of got repetitive especially for breakfast. Overall the food was good at the resort. We actually went into Yutucan, a different city in Mexico and after some excursions we had probably the best meal on our whole trip. The food was delicious!!!! It was a true Authentic meal.

IMG_0869 (1).jpg

IMG_0035.jpg

IMG_0756.jpg

IMG_0914.jpg

IMG_0866 (1).jpg

The beach was absolutely AMAZING! white soft sand, so soft on the feet, simply amazing. The ocean was also very beautiful and it was warm. There was some sea weed but it didn't really bother us because they were just along the shore line.

IMG_0557.jpg

IMG_0599.jpg

So when we go away my sister becomes this adventurous adrenaline seeking freak and wants to do all the excursions and somehow persuaded me to do Parasailing. I was super scared because I'm not the best with heights but I took my phone because I needed to take pictures 100%, was not gonna miss capturing that view!

IMG_0589.jpg

IMG_0597 (1).jpg

IMG_0593.jpg

IMG_0594 (1).jpg

The other excursion we did was a whole day thing. We went by Chichen Itza which was amazing so informative and just amazing to see the pyramid made by the Mayan's. Learned that CANCUN actually means Snakes nest-hence reptile central! and that there are two more pyramids inside that pyramid. Cancun is built so that all the water resources are underground since that's why they have so many Cenotes. So after spending about 2.5 hours at the Chichen Itza where you can also shop and see lizards everywhere, we went by the restaurant in the same town we went to go see the Isla Mujeres Cenote. Which was AMAZING! Most beautiful thing I've ever seen. I've never seen a Cenote so this was really exciting for me. The vines from trees and how clear the water was, it was truly an amazing experience.

IMG_0712 (1).jpg

IMG_0719 (1).jpg

IMG_0760 (1).jpg

IMG_0766 (1).jpg

IMG_0781.jpg

IMG_0780.jpg

IMG_0795.jpg

IMG_0821 (1).jpg

IMG_0799.jpg

We also did a speed boat excursion where we go around the whole lagoon and then go into the ocean to snorkel! Cancun apparently has one of the best snorkelling reefs next to Australia. It was probably the best snorkelling experience of my life. I've been stingrays to seeing 2 HUGE rainbow fishes. These fishes were probably half the size of me. The guy said its rare that they even come out. I was so amazed, they were beautiful. My sister surprisingly snorkelled also with the help of the tour guide, even she saw some amazing fishes. There was so many fishes they literally swim against you like literally bumping on you and swimming by. This tour was actually amazing.

We did end up going out one night to the clubs downtown, make sure you take your I.D because I didn't think I would need my I.D and had to go back and get it. We went to COCO BONGO and it was BLAST! We got tickets prior to going here from the hotel and the guy who sells the excursions hooked us up with free wristbands for drinks. The party was just wild at Coco bongo. Girls go in for free and we both got free drinks from the bartenders and it was just insane. Loved all the music. They had acrobats performing, they truly put on a show and get the whole club going.

IMG_0616.jpg

IMG_0661.jpg

We also went to La Isla Shopping Village, It was 1$ bus ride there and 1$ bus ride back. It was actually pretty neat and they basically had every single brand you can think of..from Prada to Valentino. There is plenty to do when in Cancun.

IMG_0832.jpg

Overall, I would go back to Cancun, but I don't think I would go back to the same hotel even though it was nice. I prefer the Riu's or just 4star and up. Even though it is a big more expensive to go to a five or a four star hotel, I think it's totally worth it because having a nice stay at a place makes your vacation much more enjoyable and memorable.

IMG_0496 (1).jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post!

HOTEL: 3.5/5
FOOD: 3.5/5 (A La Carte was great 5/5)
SERVICE: 4
VIBE: 7.5/10

FOLLOW and COMMENT ♥

Sort:  

You are very lucky to have visited this places. The water looks incredibly blue and just AMAZING. Hope you enjoyed to the fullest! Super nice pictures.

Thank you so much! I feel very blessed to have travelled to so many places. Thank you for your nice comments.

@izzylira - Your trip looked amazing. I've been to Mexico but never Cancun. Definitely on my list after this. Cenotes are always so beautiful and fun. Wish we had places like that in Los Angeles. Girl! You make me want to go on vacation. Thanks for sharing! :) - @Tiffy

@Tiffy Thank you so much! it was a lot of fun!! You should totally go!!! you only got one life to live, why not go travel theres so much to see. you will have a blast in cancun!!

Followed! Hope to see more travel posts @izzylira :)
I also have something you might like to see :)
https://steemit.com/travel/@kellyjaneturner/travel-video-1-brisbane-australia

@kellyjaneturner Followed you back! great stuff on your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01