Let's go back in time, let's go to Cuba!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

So Cuba is one super interesting place, maybe one of the most interesting places I've been to. Why am I saying this? Well, there's a lot of crazy facs about this country that makes you wanna visit it! Here is some:

  1. Cuba is the most populated country in the Caribbean, with more than 11 million residents.

  2. The only cars that Cuban citizens can own legally are cars created and bought before 1959. After this year, the Cuban government seized all of the cars, and owns them all to this day. Most of the pre-1959 cars in the country are from the United States.

  3. Dance is very important in Cuba, the birthplace of classic dance styles like the Bolero, Mambo and Cha Cha. (I love this one)

  4. Until 2008, Cubans were not allowed to own cell phones.

  5. The average salary in Cuba according to data from 2013 was about $20 per month.

Aaand the list could continue..

IMG_6414.JPG

So I've been to Havana, like one year ago and I totally fell in love! The colorful houses, the old cars and the people always dancing around and beeing happy even though they are poor really impressed me! I went there with a really good friend of mine, that I've been living with in Mexico. We flew from there, it's like 2 and a half hours flight.

IMG_6182.JPG

In the first day we went to walk around the city and sit somewhere to eat. I loooved the city but it was kinda wierd also for me the fact that the people there are so poor and living on the streets and so I didn't feel that confortable going around spending money on delicious food or maybe shopping for clothes when most of them are starving, you know..

292.JPG

294.JPG

One funny thing but also sad that happened to me(so you understand of what kind of poor level I am talking about) is that we stopped in some restaurant to order something to eat. So I remember I just ordered some french fries and the waiter looked really wierd at me. At that time, our guide, that was sitting with us on the table, he told me that they don't eat fries, or any kind of potato cause is too expensive and that is really fancy from me to ask for that.. At the end, the waiter told me that I could get the fries cause I'm a tourist, a foreigner, but they can not eat something like this..

Anyway, i loved the people cause they wouldn't stop dancing and was like a party atmosphere everywhere you'd go..

273.JPG

In the night that day we went to visit the Cuban Art Factory that is a must do when you go there! It's a massive converted warehouse and each room, loft, and level contains different types of artwork and different types of live music. Really cool place to have some drinks.

281.JPG

282.JPG

So the rest of the days we spent there, that were like 3 or 4, we explored more the city, moving around from place to place in coco taxi, buying cuban stuff like cigars or cuban paintings from the bazaars, and we also visited a small beautiful beach around there named Santa Maria del Mar. I totally loved Havana!!

IMG_6062.JPG

IMG_6111.JPG

IMG_6335.JPG

IMG_6410.JPG

I hope you liked my post and if so upvote it, and also leave a comment to let me know what you think and follow me for more travel and modelling posts!

Kisses everybody!

Ps: My post was added to @steemitworld map --> [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 23.110049 lat -82.320557 long My experience in Cuba d3scr)

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the post. I am Cuban and as a Cuban I dared to say that you are one of the few foreigners that visits the island and then tells the good and bad things about it. And all because the Cuban government put a lot of effort for almost 60 years to show the world only the good part of the country. Cuba has a lot of beatiful places, the biggest part of those places were forbidden for cuban till a few years ago, and even today the greater part of cuban populations is unable to access to it couse as you say a cuban wins 20$ per month and the prices of products and services are like Europe.

Cuba is BEAUTIFUL! This posts hits close to home as my grandmother is a Cuban native and always showed us pictures of this gorgeous place growing up:) I wish they allowed Americans to visit. Great post!

Cuba is indeed beautiful! Your grandma' is a lucky person <3

Cool post @iuliananae. Cuba is definitely an interesting place. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Awesome! Done :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=iuliananae
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=let-s-go-back-in-time-let-s-go-to-cuba


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I love Cuba! I just went through my old pictures today! :) I love the people and the culture. Nice post and beautiful pictures! :)

Hey, thx! <3

Omg, i shot an epic photo project out in Cuba a couple of years back finally got round to retouching it. Can't wait to share it with the community ! Let me know if you want to check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29