Cambodian Waterfall Experience !

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemit the other day we took a drive from our hostel in the center of Kampot out of town and up Bokor mountain to explore the waterfall. We hired a motorbike from our hostel for $5 and filled it the whole way up for $1.70 then we headed out of town towards the mountain. I'll provide a link to a map showing the route we took below.

IMG_20180108_141421.jpg

When we arrived at the foot of the mountain we realized how beautiful the views were going to be so I took out my GoPro and we ended up recording the journey up the mountain to share with you guys. The views were breathtaking we probably should have taken more pictures along the way but in the scorching heat we just wanted to get up to the top and out of the sun.

IMG_20180108_141427_011.jpg

I made the mistake of not applying any sunscreen so ive got some lovely redish arms now. But anyway once we reached the top of the mountain we proceeded on over to the waterfall which cost 50 cents to enter and provided us with a bottle of water. The waterfall was better than I had anticipated after seeing some incredible ones in Laos such as Kuang Si.

IMG_20180108_141607_005.jpg

This one was unique for us though as shortly after we arrived a group of Monks turned up and proceeded to take a shower in the waterfall shampoo and all ! They were perfectly happy with me taking photos and videos of them .... I think they loved the attention to be honest haha.

IMG_20180108_142319_006.jpg

I'll upload a time-lapse I took of the waterfalls later on today once I've finished editing it :) Going to need to get a proper tripod though instead of using a random rock to prop up my camera !

IMG_20180108_141724_016.jpg

Its definitely worth making your way up the mountain it'll probably take you about an hour to get to the top depending on how fast you drive .... Lots more content on the way from Kampot on the way including the salt fields, pepper farms and the drive from Kampot to Kep which is stunning by the way.

Thanks for reading,
Ben

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me I'm sat at 99 followers who will get me to the big 100 !!

Popular posts:
Koh Phi Phi (Island Tour Highlights)
Merry Christmas from Vietnam

You can also find me on:
Instagram
And
Twitter

Sort:  

Those layers on the waterfall are so lovely, and I'm glad you added the second photo with the monks so we can see the scale of the waterfalls

Ive also got a video of the waterfalls uploaded ;)

Monks having shower in a waterfall is quite impressive!!

Hi @itsben thank you I loved, and was jealous a bit of your trip, because I love Cambodia but never got to Kampot, gutted! Especially now I've seen your story! We lived and worked in Sihanoukville for a year, and would love to go back It seems we are on the same discord group, so I look forward to hearing more of you travels:)

Thanks yes I've just seen you comment 😊 I've got more posts from Kampot on the way

What a magical spot and the the photo of the monks is my favorite. Cambodia is rising on the list of places we have to visit..

It definitely has some good places I do prefer Thailand and Vietnam though

lets make it 100 then, follow) its funny monks use shampoo, no? have a nice trips

101 now haha ! yeah they did use shampoo :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by itsben from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

looks like a lot of fun :)

I loved it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86