FOOD REVIEW: Tapatio Original Picante Popcorn (Hot Sauce)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Doing something different today. Hot Sauce and POPCORN. Does it work? Do you like spicy foods?

tapatio-original-picante-popcorn.jpg

A friend mailed me a bag of this stuff that he found at the Grocery Outlet somewhere in the USA. He knows I like hot sauce, and this bag was easy enough to mail, so to my surprise it arrived this morning.

The first thing I did, was run some GOOGLE searches for it. To my dismay, I really only found this:

calories-tapatio-original-picante-popcorn3.jpg

Well, I have to give praise to myfitnesspal.com to be on the ball to have the calorie information already on their website.

What I was really looking for is for some blog reviews, or youtube videos trying this product. I always like to read/watch those first before I try something, so I can compare their experience first... to my own personal opinion.

No luck on finding a review :(

I kept looking. I found a facebook promo page for the product and some tweets... still no reviews.

Am I the first person in the world to review this version of the product and post it? Maybe!!

....So why not a better place (other than steem) to be the first reviewer?

To be fair, I did find this similar idea on youtube (which is NOT related to the actual packaged product):

This is the homemade version:

Did that radio station get the people at Tapatio thinking of making a packaged product with this stuff? Perhaps!

Here is what the kernels look like:

tapatio-original-picante-popcorn-kernels.jpg

Nothing special. I was hoping they would have a complete RED tinge of color to them for visual appeal.

TASTE TEST.


  • I ate a few... It tasted like bland popcorn for the first 3 seconds.

  • I continued munching. I could taste hints of Tapatio flavor

  • This does not taste like anything special I first thought... (Initial reaction)...

  • I threw a few more pieces into my mouth, kept eating. OH! WAIT A MINUTE! A burn is present and growing and the flavor of Tapatio is coming through too!

On my personal heat scale, these are probably a 3/10 of my tolerance.

  • To someone that thinks a jalapeno popper is hot. These could be about the same heat as those.

FINAL REVIEW:


I like hot buttered popcorn at the movies. Nothing will replace that... However, it is nice to see Tapatio Hot Sauce make its way into popcorn. I think this would be a nice stepping stone to people who don't mind jalapenos on a burger, and want to explore similar heat level with popcorn.

It's not a secret that the world is getting spicier tolerances and spicer taste buds... it might be more popular if more people tried it. So if you see it in the store, pick up a bag and give it a shot.

I'm on day 6/30 of my positivity challenge.

If you came upon this review, simply because you were interested in Tapatio Popcorn... Well, while you are here, check out
steemit.com / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyOjkPsKKpo
, it is a blogging platform that pays its readers and writers.

..and...

For those new users possibly joining us, a quick glossary of who gets paid to contribute here:

  • READERS ON STEEMIT.com: Those who curate content, and upvote (thumbs up) good posts.
  • WRITERS ON STEEMIT.com: Those who write content and blogs like this one you are reading.

Sorry, I'm always in steem promotional mode. I did enjoy the popcorn though. :)

--> You like spicy foods? You like Tapatio? Ever see this product? You have plenty of opportunities to comment. :)

To my followers? How did I do with my first (maybe only) food review? You like?

Sort:  

Nice! I have to try this sometime. Do you like La Chalula? It is a great battle of sauces between Tapatio and La Chalula for me. Hard to decide at times 😝

I don't decide. I just enjoy both actually. :)

Well done. Very nice review

I was hoping someone would say that... thank you.

Hmm, this is another one of those crazy mixes that tells me the world has gone mad I tells ya!

First salt in caramel and now this; what next; strawberry bacon??? :-D

Cg

You shouldn't have said that. YES!! Strawberry / bacon is next.

Nooooooooo! I've unleashed a monster; what have I done?!

I feel like Oppenheimer; 'for now I am like death, destroyer of worlds'

:-)

Cg

Hot sauce and popcorn together... hmm I am not to sure about that one!
I don't think it would be to my taste so I'll probably give it a miss.

I know it sounds gross.. but Tapatio actually brings a unique flavor. So if you disregard the heat it brings.. the taste of Tapatio itself is somewhat refined, unique, and flavorful, so it kind of works well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45