INDAY CLARA TRAVELS SOLO #3: TRYING THE INAFAMOUS EGG COFFEE IN HANOI VIETNAM

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemians! I know it's been a while but I'm back. I pretty much enjoyed my solo backpacking in Vietnam, Laos, Thailand and Cambodia. I haven't been able to write much as I wanted to. When I got back last April 5, 2018 here in Cebu, I got drained and was over fatigued due to my fast paced trip. I had to rest for a week to regain my strength back. Also, I couldn't do much as well since my phone got broken (got wet during our pool party in Cambodia) and my laptop is still being fixed up to this day. Good thing my siblings let me use their computers for the mean time.

Also I have good news! My entry for the #steemsummit photography contest won. You can check it out here. https://steemit.com/steemsummit/@steemsummit/steem-summit-s-photography-submission-winners

And now, I have some free time to share stories about my trip and it begins here.

So I got up early for my first day of my solo backpacking trip in VIetnam. And what do you think might be the first thing to do in Hanoi? Taste their famous EGG COFFEE!

DSCF1918.JPG

DSCF1905.JPG

There are lots of coffee shops anywhere in Vietnam. Well, that’s what makes their country the top destination for a coffee break. My tour guide brought me to 51 Coffee located somewhere in Old Quarters, Hanoi. You would notice then the short chairs lining up the edge of the store. Yep, you would have to sit knee length. This is the norm there. So we took our place on one of the tables. My tour guide ordered the egg coffee and minutes later I’ve got to check it out for myself.

DSCF1907.JPG

So what does it taste? For me, it was CREAMY. The coffee is made of egg yolk, sugar, condensed milk and coffee powder/extract. Then it is serve in a bowl of hot water to retain its temperature. It doesn’t have a taste of egg on it since the egg yolk is beaten together with coffee and sugar.

DSCF1910.JPG

I actually do like it and it was served with tea. It costs 20,000 VND which is less than a dollar.

DSCF1913.JPG

Overall, I could say that the Egg Coffee is a must try in Vietnam.

Yours Truly,
Inday Clara

Sort:  

Heya! Seems your busy! I want to see something like your intro post. Hey! Come visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/tdbA7vg

Yeah, i saw that when you posted it and I was, WOW!

This post got resteemed and upvoted by @goldenwhale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39