Playing CHESS, one game at a time, April 12th 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I swear i was winning!

With the temperature ranging above 30 degrees yesterday, no one feels like wanting to go out. Our climate in the Philippines tends to be very humid under the heat, so people prefer to stay in or go to the air-conditioned mall. In the province, VIGAN doesn't have huge malls like in Manila, but rather, it only have few restaurants and food-chains to go to.

As we couldn't find our scrabble, @mariayves0912 suggested to play chess. Alright so chess it was! I'm not much of a player, compared to Yves who have played in their high school tournaments. But I can play, right @mattclarke?

Smile when you're winning! In case you're wondering where our chessboard came from, I bought it in Chesky Krumlov years ago as a remembrance of my dad's passing.

Without finishing the game, my niece had a date so it waited till late in the evening. Then it happened.

Brownout!

Though I was gagging on to really beat her, the neighborhood's transformer malfunctioned, putting all of the houses' lights off. A good thing that the street lights wasn't affected.

Since a lot of tourists have been pouring to VIGAN, neighboring towns have also started building small apartments  to help accomodate such numbers, a great income too for such owners.

But it can't be helped too that frequent brownouts is the result of such...

As the electric company didn't build them a separate transformer from the community. These brownouts have occured these past 2 nights and with the heat, people stayed out till fixed. It's a small and quiet town with no night life, that people are in bed before the 10pm curfew.



Was it full moon on the 12th?

Electricity came on at past 11pm and everyone just want to go to bed, my mom earlier was already sleeping in the porch with just a fan by my niece.

Our chess game??

I woke up in the morning and found out that my nephew had a bit of a clean-up in the porch, including the chess board.


All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. 

Sort:  

Nice story. :-)
If you want to practice chess (to win your next game before the lights turn off again) you might try to solve my chess problems here on steemit. I just "published" one of them today.

Haha am not sure about the 'solving' part but i will have a look :)

Sure, just try your luck ... most important is to enjoy the solving process. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Am getting to love this :) thank you.

I liked seeing the pics of your house and neighbourhood!

I played some chess in public school, not much after that LOL

Thank you ;)
here @jaki01

great post. Btw I dare you for a game of chess:)

thank you :) my niece have just beaten me earlier so here's another one for you @jaki01
;)

Strenght doesn't come from winning.

Sure does gives you confidence ;)
start the game??

confidence is dangerous:)

Yes lets play soon:) But now I have to some things to do.

Where can you play chess online?

I haven't played chess online :)
as for when, i can't guarantee as i'm in Asia right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67