Monet's rose garden in Giverny Part II

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Leaving the hustle and bustle of Paris to Giverny, from 1883 to 1926, Monet lived in this village for 43 years. He passed away in December of 1926, having had lung cancer. Was this one of the reasons why he chose to stay here? It's only 75km away if he needed to go to Paris or for his friends to visit him?

Off to Giverny

It was raining the day before so armed with raincoats and umbrellas, we took the train from St. Lazare metro station to Vernon-Giverny. It wasn't a long travel as it took only 45 minutes from Paris.  

Chatting to a couple from the US opposite us in the compartment, time flew fast that we got disoriented to time and place upon arriving in Vernon. With neither of us been to see Monet's, every second was full of anticipation and excitement of what we will discover.

Although there were a number of tourists that day, queuing for tickets was not a problem. Some write-ups say to go in the morning to avoid queus. But regardless, peak season is manageable.

Allonsy!

A garden so wild and heavenly

I can show you pictures, but I ask for your imagination to run riots about the smell of the place. Anyone's senses can go into overdrive when standing in the midst of the rose garden.

Have a feast!

With his garden, he played with colors that inspired him to paint them. I read somewhere that he spent a lot of money buying exotic plants for his garden.

In contrast to some gardens I have seen, especially in Britain, i will not call it immaculate, but rather unruly and wild. The flowers and bushes are not in uniform, but rather in contrast to one another. Or scattered here and there, where one doesn't know anymore where to look.

Like a child with too much candies infront of her😍😂😂

He loves me, he loves me not!

No, i didn't have time to do that! I was busy trying to enjoy and taking all the sights in. Oh those flowers, and colors!

Did i say the sun came out? I honestly think that if it haven't, those flowers were enough to brighten the day.  No wonder they were his everyday subjects.

Trellises and bushes 


These images aren't enough to justify how glorious Monet's rose garden is...but i have hoped that i have captured a bit of his place and share with you.

I promised the view from his bedroom.

Et voilà!!!

Imagine waking up to that view!

You wanna see inside the house? or his boat.



All images are mine and are original. Watermarks via PicsArt.

http://giverny.org/transpor/



Sort:  

I would like to see this in real life, like your last post, this one is filled with beauty and it makes me want to experience this myself.
I love flowers, gardens and summer (even cloudy days), this is wonderful:-)

Oh thanks Linda..check the pond in my last one?

You can see how he got his sense of colour and imagery from that garden. Some beautiful flowers there. Thanks for taking us on this tour.

You're welcome!Drop-by next time you go to Spain. Be well.

I will have to, for sure.

You must😁

Such a beauty! I’d love to imagine myself sipping a cup of coffee while sitting in the midst pf that garden, just awesome!

You know..there's only 1 bench and that was facing the pond. The only place i could think of is at the steps facing the garden. Cheers with the coffee!

Hi there it's me @josediccus, wow tell me again, what place is this? Is this the other side of heaven? Cuz this is beautiful beyond measure you captured the sweetness 100% clean, I love every photo

Believe me i got so much that i dunno what to do with them. thanks mate!

Lol you can post them to me, so I can put them on a template and hang them on my wall hahaha

Oh that would be nice! Imagine my pics being displayed, that would be cool!

Lol certainly it would thrill me

Can u download any pics here? the top 2 are quite ok😍😍

Lol yes I can, do you permit?

oh pls do..my pleasure mate cheers!!

Aaaaarrrgh reminded again that I have never visited this beautiful place. I must go one day!
Very pretty post Imma :)

Thanks Sylvia! Don't u live near?
Normandy is far?

I used to when I lived in Paris. Much too far away now :(
One day...

Never mind..it-s just here😊😊

The place is very lovely. If I am dying, I would choose to stay here. It soothes the soul and helps you recover from all the emotional wounds in life.

He probably had it later in life..but then again, he loved gardening. He can't do that in Paris.

Oh I see. What is with Paris at that time anyway? Not enough fertile land to plant? I think I need to do more reading and perhaps travelling ate. =)

All buildings and roads..and canals.

A sensory feast of sweet smells and bright colours 😁

Not so common in Mallorca and I'm not sure scout the next island we will be living on either!

I miss my (mums) garden in England, so many bees buzzzy working away 🐝

Oh there were bees, frogs too at the pond lolsss
Definitely all senses.

nice !!!!!

Beautiful roses

And colourful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33