Travelling Times 1 : Buckingham Palace, London UK

in #travel6 years ago

It was only a week ago that I was strolling through the streets of London enjoying my last day there. And it seems like ages ago. At least, I have the photos and the memories and I am gonna share them with you.

First stop, Buckingham Palace.

cover.jpg

You can reach the home of the Queen through Green Park where there is also an Underground station.

DSC_0543.jpg

Here you can see a more general view …

DSC_0548.jpg

… and as you turn around you see a road called “The Mall” that leads to Trafalgar Studios that you can barely see at the end of it.

DSC_0549.jpg

And if you are lucky you may bump into a parade of soldiers with traditional Scottish uniforms.

DSC_0557.jpg

Now to the Palace… The main pole of attraction is the East Front that was originally constructed by Edward Blore and completed in 1850. It was remodelled by Sir Aston Webb in 1913. This what you see in these pictures.

DSC_0571.jpg

Here’s a detail of the main gate of the Palace. It’s the royal coat of arms of the United Kingdom. You can see a lion and a unicorn. The lion is wearing a crown and the heraldic unicorn is chained, because according to the legend a free unicorn was considered a very dangerous beast. ( so dangerous that none alive person ever saw one ).

DSC_0561.jpg

I managed to pierce through the crowd and take a picture of the guardian soldiers, wearing their traditional uniforms. With all due respect to the British soldiers , I firmly believe that Greek national Guard is much more sexier in their white skirts and tights.

DSC_0564.jpg

The other thing you cannot miss is the Victoria Memorial monument. It is located at the end of The Mall. It was designed and executed by the sculptor (Sir) Thomas Brock. Designed in 1901, unveiled on 16 May 1911 and completed at 1924.

DSC_0548.jpg

At the top there is a gilded bronze Winged Victory, standing on a globe and with a victor's palm in one hand. The main statue is the enthroned Queen Victoria (facing The Mall). The other statues are of Motherhood (facing Buckingham Palace), Justice (facing north-west towards Green Park) and Truth (facing south-east).

DSC_0551.jpg

Funny story is that I’ve been to the monument 3-4 times and I always thought that the main statue was the current Queen, Elizabeth. Come on people, it looks like her… Until today that I went to the Wikipedia to copy/paste info… What can you say… There are things to be learned…

DSC_0540.jpg

It’s a place where tourists are gathering to take pictures and selfies. You can see people from any nation there is and you can hear every language available. I love these gatherings because we can see firsthand that no matter where we come from, we are basically the same human beings that want the same things. Travel the world and take damn good selfies…

DSC_0567.jpg

Of course, my walk at London continued, but I don’t want to tire you with countless pictures. Plus, I want to maximize my earnings with as many posts as I can get away with.

So, the next stop will be St. James Park.

And until we all travel the world,
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem!

footer.png

Sort:  

You got a 33.33% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

You know, I'm from just down the road from there, and have never actually been to Buckingham Palace. I went past Windsor Castle once, but that's pretty much it...

I live in Athens, 15 minutes from the Acropolis and never been to the place.
Maybe we take it for granted...

Very true. I've been to Central London twice as a kid with my parents. Never went there as an adult. Even when I've lived in other countries I've never done the touristy things. Last year when I lived in Stowmarket (nice part of England by the way if you get a chance to go there...) I made a point to get the train to nearby towns and cities. It was definitely worth it as I don't know when I'm next going to be in that part of the world...

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-05-16-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

thank you . :)

My favorite is DEFINITELY the one of the main gate - that crest on there is gorgeous!!!! isn't it strange that when you get home from vacation... it doesn't take long to feel like it was ages ago???

that means...
you need to go on vacation again
hehehehe RIGHT AWAY!!! :)

Think I will follow your advice. I have to clearly state that I went to London for a seminar even though I understand it may appear as recreation . :)

Nice discussion from you and @lewisjfclarke about not visiting touristy stuff around the corner. I guess it is what we do. You know how often I went planspotting on sint martin while it was our main attraction? Only when family was visiting hahahaha.

I also find those guard look like lego-man. I guess these guys are very proud of what they do..its honorable!! (but not so damn sexy hahahahah)

Wasn't kidding about the skirt and the tights ...

87e8a2209174dc8a92d891e2890fb75c--travel-in-greece-endless.jpg

they are called evzonoi which means "good belts" . :)

still believe our guys look way better than the british ... :)

Id say its an awkward tie maybe even :D

Wow!!! I always wanted to visit. Now you remind me that I have to add it to my bucket list. And the pictures made me feel like I went with you. Thanks for sharing this trip with me.

Thank you . I have a lot more photos to share , so stay tuned ... :)

You have done a tremendous and painstaking job. Everything is very interesting and informative. I look forward to your next message!

Indeed !!! BUT I will rise to the occasion and bring many interesting posts.

We are all waiting!

Γεια σου Ηλία ! Μιας και δεν πρόκειται να πάω Λονδίνο (ελπίζω , όταν ανέβει το steemit να μπορώ) , είναι ωραίο να ταξιδεύεις μέσω τέτοιου είδους αναρτήσεων .
Όσο για τους Εύζωνες και τα αντίστοιχα lego του Λονδίνου , αν δεν έχεις βρεθεί στην αλλαγή φρουράς , γίνεται Κυριακή στις 11 (το χειμώνα) και αξίζει να την παρακολουθήσεις !!!!!!!

Κυριακες καπου εκει κοντα ειμαι . Θα το εχω υποψη.

a great and interesting story))). Photo super. I'm not very verbose. I'm thrilled, thank you.

Glad that you liked it :)

Είσαι επίσημος καλεσμένος για το γάμο και δεν μας το λες;;; :)))))

ποιο γαμο ? πειτε μου και μενα ρε παιδια ...

παντρεύεται ο Harry... οχι ο Poter..Αλλα ο πρίγκιπας...
άστα αυτα γι'αυτό είσαι εκεί...

δεσμευομαι και δεν μπορω να αποκαλυψω κατι ...

χαχαχααααα...Είσαι ο ανταποκριτής του steemit... :pppp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38