The Best Travel Destinations in March Part 1 (Haas Picks)

in #travel7 years ago

Like always I will take you around the world to the best spots to travel to, this time it’s time for March to shine.

Hi my friends welcome back to my monthly posts about the best travel destinations for every month. Normally I post these entries a little bit earlier but I was traveling and enjoying a trip in California as many of you will know. But I did the research for you again and I must say this month’s list makes me super eager again to be on the road. I hope many of you have the chance to visit one of the following unique destinations.
Ready to board? Here we go!

travel march 1.png

Turtles in Borneo
I been to Indonesia when I was traveling years ago and was able to stay a month, I really liked it there! I visited Java and Bali so I never made it to the beautiful island of Borneo. The island of Borneo is more wild then most other Indonesian islands and by wild I mean the nature and the wildlife that lives on the island.
We all know you can see Orang-Utans on the island but make sure to visit Pulau Gulisan in March to see on other wonder of nature.
In March you are able to see Hawksbill turtles lay their eggs. Seeing thousands of turtles at the same time, how nice would that be? Hope you can find out yourself.

Travel march 2.png

Travel march 3.png

Go Kiwi in New Zealand
I visited New Zealand when I was working on Cruiseships two years ago and I really want to go back one day to explore more of this super nice country. If you were waiting for an excuse to go, March is the time! Every two years for most of March Auckland celebrates cultural diversity and turn its name into Tamaki Makaurau (the Maori name of Auckland).

The festival during the month is very divers but expect over 300 events and over 1000 artists, almost all the event are free! And don’t miss out on White Nights, when the museums stay open late.

Travel march 4.png

travel march 5.png

Let’s get nasty! And get ready for the Paint
The two previous destinations are more passive, either watch Turtles or listen to music in Auckland so let’s get more active!
Call it Holi, Rainbow fest or the Festival of colors, if you just are in India march you can celebrate this festival nationwide.
The festival waves goodbye to winter and welcomes in spring, so how do the celebrate, simple; people throw color powder over each other and be happy. Expect to walk around like a Vincent van Gogh painting when the festival is over and color is everywhere!
Let’s make it a little more visual for you;

travel march 6.png

travel march 7.png

Enjoy Huskies
When I was younger I was afraid of dogs but not anymore, some of my closest friends have dogs and I really enjoy being around them now.

travel march 8.png
“Me and the dog of @world5list

But if you really want to be part of something unigue, travel to Alaska where they host the Iditarod National Historic Trail race with huskies! The race wad first held in 1973 and is 1850 Km long! Nowadays its more ceremonial but you will still see the huskies race for a few miles. After that the real race starts and is really hard to follow for visitors. If you want you can even take your own dog-sled ride.
Really unique event I think you should go to if you have a change

travel march 9.png

travel march 10.png

Hope you liked this part 1 on where to travel to in March, tomorrow I will be back with part 2!
Keep traveling everybody!!
Witch event will you pick as your next destination?

Sort:  

great post my man...gonne follow you...:)

Thanks for stopping by my Belgium friend, just a teaser for you the post tomorrow will include Waffles and Beer! so if you love that, tomorrow you will know where to go!
Have a good day

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-12-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

This post has received a 1.79 % upvote from @boomerang.

Wow awesome post! I’m going to look into Borneo :) sounds awesome!

You got a 10.49% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @heyitshaas!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received gratitude of 1.78% from @appreciator courtesy of @heyitshaas!

good work my friend!

Great ideas man. Especially love the husky dog-sled race. I know there's a dog sledding company in Finland, called Hetta Huskies, you can do an internship there, learn the craft, and actually lead multi-day dog sledding expeditions.

I would love to hear more about working on Cruise-ships. How do you get those jobs? Can I just go to a harbour and try to get a job? Maybe a post idea :)

did post about that long time ago, what is your background? maybe i can help you better

Hey Haas, great idea to include these travel destinations around the world in each month! It reminds me of that 365 days travel book from Lonely Planet. :) I'd love to experience the Holi in India some day!

I love the lonely planet, have so many, always use them to travel, this list is done due to online research and fextivals i know, will have more coming soon

Yes... Holi festival!!! That was fun and color realy is EVERYWERE!

I wrote last week about it, we were in Andaman Island for Holi.... so amazing. If you want to catch episode 09 it's the after math...

thanks for stopping by! will have a look for sure, like your account, keep up the hard work

You're welcome. Thank you, I like your account too, I'm following you now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34