Around the world #7 The best Cities in The World! Moscow (15 picks)

in #travel7 years ago

Moscow Russia where to go? After this post you know how not to miss out!

Moscow, Moskou, Mockba, whatever you want to call it this city deserves to be it the Best Cities list. 7 years ago, when my parents celebrated their 25th years wedding anniversary they told me and my brother they wanted to take us somewhere and we could pick the destination.
My brother did not really mind where would go so I saw a change to look into what I would like some more.
I wanted to pick a destination that my parents would like and also was a little more unique, so we could create memories as a family.

world city moscow 1.png

The City list you can expect during the series:
Toronto, New York, Sydney, Melbourne, Jakarta, Tokyo, Moscow, Chicago, Barcelona, Marrakech, Medellin, Paris, London, Hong Kong and Auckland

Ready for this super fun city in “my cities” post here we go!

Why Moscow?
The trip took us to St Petersburg and Moscow actually and we had a train ride between the cities. Moscow is a mayor city with over 11 million people and the capital city. Being a city person, I always love to discover the vibe in big cities and as mentioned before I think Russia is for sure worth it to see and experience yourself instead of getting your opinion formed by the media.

First Impression
Big, spread out, the financial capital of the country and therefore appealing to a lot of people, looking for a better life.
I believe that even 7 years ago when I was there I maybe missed the real Russia already because you see more and more western influences by now. I was really impressed by the underground system and the sky scrapers that were located just outside the city to house all the people.

Highlights
So much to pick from but I suggest the following highlights.

Red Square
Wherever you go in the world you will always be a tourist when you are on a holiday, so what do you do as a tourist you will have a look at the highlights or in some cases the tourist traps.
The most icon building on the square is the St Basil’s cathedral and deservedly so! The cathedral is old, having been built between 1555 and 1561 to celebrate Ivan the Terrible’s defeat of the Tatar city of Kazan.
I really like the colors of the building and it stand tall over the square a very enjoyable spacious square to just be impressed by how immense Russia is.

World city moscow 2.png

The Kremlin
Just to clarify a Kremlin means strong city heart, that’s why you will see more Kremlin city names in Russia.
You can visit the Kremlin and it also includes a theater, the Tsaar Clock, canons and several palace’s. if you saw enough on either the Red Square or at the Kremlin you can always shop to you drop in the GUM shopping mall! Every high-end brand has a nice store there and the building is very impressive.

world city moscow 3.png

The Subway
Maybe even more so in St Petersburg but as well as in Moscow the subway system in the two cities just really good. As we all know in Russia a lot off things our controlled by the government and there is a big difference between rich and poor in the country. There are people with crazy money Moscow and I also saw what looks like government housing on the edges of the city. One thing is there in Moscow to enjoy for everybody; the beauty of the subway stations. I was very impressed by it! Is Russia’s way to show how beautiful the can be.
The underground to me is a must visit and I was almost tempted to stop at every stop just to see how the station would look like.

world city moscow 4.png

world city moscow 5.png

Cemetery
A other weird must see in Moscow is the Novodevichy Cemetery, is one thing to honor the dead but this is just so hard to describe, the graves are so well maintained,beautiful,big and super expensive.
De Cemetery is the most prestigious of Russia and only people with great achievements and status are maybe eligible to get a spot there.
Today, the cemetery holds the tombs of Russian authors, musicians, play writers and poets as well as famous actors, political leaders.

world city moscow 6.png

World city moscow 7.png

Best Restaurants
Is not a restaurant I want to name like I normally do in my city posts, but just like Indonesia there are a lot of typical Russian dishes.
Temperatures can drop to -30 during the winter, it’s no surprise that Russian food is typically hearty with potatoes, bread and sour cream.
So here is your list to score for when you are in Russia; Borscht, Smoked salmon, Shashlyik, Stroganoff.
Enjoy your meal!

world city moscow 8.png

The Downside
For most people Russia is not a destination you can visit whenever you want, you need a visa for it and therefore it doesn’t suit the spontaneous traveler, also the sings are in Russian of course you it can be hard to navigate sand the people don’t really speak English well.

Hope you enjoyed this post like always, what do you think about Russia? The next destination within this topic wil be about Chicago!

Thanks for stopping by

Sort:  

Nice post I follow you but follow me and Upvote my posts please !

thanks! will keep the coming, 8 more cities to go! will keep an eye out for your posts

This post has received a 2.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @heyitshaas.

This post has received a 0.99 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @heyitshaas. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I really wanted to visit Saint Petersburg! now I gotta add Moscow too.

it wont dissapoint for sure, hope you can make it one day

Wow, I like your post! Will definitely add Moscow on my bucket list!

Thanks my friend its one of my series within my blog, will post the next one in a hour!

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-12-12-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote by the account @officialfuzzy thanks to the whaleshares community and @buildawhale

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thanks! thats just great, love the support and hope you will enjoy my future posts as well.
Feel really good! thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76